The Unquiet House: A chilling tale of gripping suspense

3.48 avg rating
( 242 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781780876467: The Unquiet House: A chilling tale of gripping suspense
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

SYNOPSIS

Mire House is dreary, dark, cold and isolated. But when Emma Dean inherits it from a distant relation, she immediately feels a sense of belonging. It isn't long before Charlie Mitchell, grandson of the original owner, appears claiming that he wants to seek out his family. But Emma suspects he's more interested in the house than his long-lost relations. When she starts seeing ghostly figures, Emma begins to wonder: is Charlie trying to scare her away, or are there darker secrets lurking in the corners of Mire House?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

AUTHOR BIO

Alison Littlewood was raised in Penistone, South Yorkshire, and went on to attend the University of Northumbria at Newcastle (now Northumbria University). Originally she planned to study graphic design, but missed the words too much and switched to a joint English and History degree. She followed a career in marketing before developing her love of writing fiction. She now lives near Wakefield, West Yorkshire, with her partner Fergus.

Review:

The author excels herself here. What Littlewood did with cults and motherhood in her debut, and fairy tales in the darkly fantastic crime fiction which followed it, she pulls off again, incredibly, in this best in class account of a haunted house. --The Speculative Scotsman

A haunted house novel by a writer of exceptional skill ... that stands alongside the greats of the genre: fertile ground worked by the likes of Shirley Jackson, Richard Matheson, Stephen King, against whose seminal works Alison Littlewood can hold her head high ... one of the most exceptional horror authors of the current generation. --Reader Dad

An extremely well written and engaging spooky tale. --The Horror Hothouse

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781848637887: The Unquiet House [signed]

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1848637888 ISBN 13:  9781848637887
Publisher: PS Publishing, 2014
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. What is lurking in the corners of Mire House? Chillingly atmospheric, The Unquiet House is perfect for fans of Stephen King. Struggling to recover from the catastrophic loss of both of her parents, Emma Dean desperately needs a fresh start. When she inherits an old house in the depths of the Yorkshire countryside, she realises that this could be her chance. Mire House is dreary, dark and cold - yet when Emma walks inside, she feels an immediate sense of belonging.It isn t long before Charlie Mitchell, grandson of the original owner, appears, claiming he wants to seek out his family. But Emma suspects he s more interested in the house than his long-lost relations.And when she starts seeing ghostly figures, Emma begins to wonder: is Charlie trying to scare her away, or are there darker secrets lurking in the corners of Mire House? Reads like a timeless classic of the genre - Guardian. Seller Inventory # AA69781780876467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2014. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9781780876467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.44
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. What is lurking in the corners of Mire House? Chillingly atmospheric, The Unquiet House is perfect for fans of Stephen King. Struggling to recover from the catastrophic loss of both of her parents, Emma Dean desperately needs a fresh start. When she inherits an old house in the depths of the Yorkshire countryside, she realises that this could be her chance. Mire House is dreary, dark and cold - yet when Emma walks inside, she feels an immediate sense of belonging.It isn t long before Charlie Mitchell, grandson of the original owner, appears, claiming he wants to seek out his family. But Emma suspects he s more interested in the house than his long-lost relations.And when she starts seeing ghostly figures, Emma begins to wonder: is Charlie trying to scare her away, or are there darker secrets lurking in the corners of Mire House? Reads like a timeless classic of the genre - Guardian. Seller Inventory # AA69781780876467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books. Condition: New. Mire House is dreary, dark, cold and infested with midges. But when Emma Dean inherits it from a distant relation, she immediately feels a sense of belonging. But when she starts seeing ghostly figures, Emma begins to wonder if there are darker secrets lurking in the corners of Mire House. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FK. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 25. Weight in Grams: 268. . 2014. 0th Edition. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781780876467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2014. Condition: New. Mire House is dreary, dark, cold and infested with midges. But when Emma Dean inherits it from a distant relation, she immediately feels a sense of belonging. But when she starts seeing ghostly figures, Emma begins to wonder if there are darker secrets lurking in the corners of Mire House. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FK. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 131 x 25. Weight in Grams: 268. . 2014. 0th Edition. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781780876467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Littlewood, Alison
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001788269

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Jo Fletcher Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Jo Fletcher Books, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9781780876467_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Alison Littlewood
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1780876467. Seller Inventory # ST1780876467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Quercus Publishing
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781780876467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.09
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Alison Littlewood
Published by Quercus Publishing (2014)
ISBN 10: 1780876467 ISBN 13: 9781780876467
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9781780876467

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book