B Byars The Eighteenth Emergency

ISBN 13: 9781782955344

The Eighteenth Emergency

3.63 avg rating
( 362 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781782955344: The Eighteenth Emergency
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Eighteenth Emergency

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Betsy Byars began her writing career rather late in life. "In all of my school years, . . . not one single teacher ever said to me, 'Perhaps you should consider becoming a writer,'" Byars recalls. "Anyway, I didn't want to be a writer. Writing seemed boring. You sat in a room all day by yourself and typed. If I was going to be a writer at all, I was going to be a foreign correspondent like Claudette Colbert in Arise My Love. I would wear smashing hats, wisecrack with the guys, and have a byline known round the world. My father wanted me to be a mathematician." So Byars set out to become mathematician, but when she couldn't grasp calculus in college, she turned to English. Even then, writing was not on her immediate horizon.

First, she married and started a family. The writing career didn't emerge until she was 28, a mother of two children, and living in a small place she called the barracks apartment, in Urbana, Illinois. She and her husband, Ed, had moved there in 1956 so he could attend graduate school at the University of Illinois. She was bored, had no friends, and so turned to writing to fill her time. Byars started writing articles for The Saturday Evening Post, Look,and other magazines. As her family grew and her children started to read, she began to write books for young people and, fortunately for her readers, discovered that there was more to being a writer than sitting in front of a typewriter.

"Making up stories and characters is so interesting that I'm never bored. Each book has been a different writing experience. It takes me about a year to write a book, but I spend another year thinking about it, polishing it, and making improvements. I always put something of myself into my books -- something that happened to me. Once a wanderer came by my house and showed me how to brush my teeth with a cherry twig; that went in The House of Wingscopyright © 2000 by Penguin Putnam Books for Young Readers. All rights reserved.

Review:

"My favourite children's book ever is probably The Eighteenth Emergency by Betsy Byars. It's funny, it's sad, it's Magical Storytelling. And yet there are no explosions, no flying castles, no aliens plotting to take over Norway. It's just the small story of a cheeky boy who's in trouble with the school bully. But you really care about that boy. You feel you know him. You're right there rooting for him." -- Andy Stanton "A beautiful, poignant and funny story of school bullies and how to deal with them." -- Chris Riddell "The best bullying story ever, Betsy Byars's The Eighteenth Emergency manages to be very funny indeed without for a moment under-estimating its horrors or significance of the victim's feelings as he struggles for survival." -- Julia Eccleshare Books for Keeps "I have read The Eighteenth Emergency many times over the years, and it remains to me wholly contemporary and not dated in any way. I still think this is one of the best children's books ever written." -- Lauren Child "Betsy Byars' close perception of children's feelings and brilliant observation of their conversation are evident in all her work" Junior Education

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780140314519: The 18th Emergency

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0140314512 ISBN 13:  9780140314519
Publisher: Puffin, 1981
Softcover

9780435123833: The Eighteenth Emergency (New Windmills KS3)

Heinemann, 1992
Hardcover

9780670290550: The 18th Emergency

Viking..., 1973
Hardcover

9780099366119: THE EIGHTEENTH EMERGENC Y

Random..., 1994
Hardcover

9780140308631: The Eighteenth Emergency (R200)

Puffin, 1976
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Betsy Byars
Published by Random House Children's Publishers UK, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Children's Publishers UK, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Magical storytelling, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney, David Walliams and Roald Dahl.Mouse has a plan for every emergency. He knows how to survive a fall from a plane, what to do in quicksand, and how to bewilder a charging bull. But nohing - nobody - could be prepared for Marv Hammerman. Marv Hammerman, Neanderthal man, is twice as big as anyone else in the class, and when he is out to get someone, he usually succeeds.A timeless, poignant and funny story about bullying from Newbery Medal-Winner Betsy Byars. Seller Inventory # AAZ9781782955344

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Betsy Byars
Published by Random House Children's Publishers UK, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Children's Publishers UK, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Magical storytelling, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney, David Walliams and Roald Dahl.Mouse has a plan for every emergency. He knows how to survive a fall from a plane, what to do in quicksand, and how to bewilder a charging bull. But nohing - nobody - could be prepared for Marv Hammerman. Marv Hammerman, Neanderthal man, is twice as big as anyone else in the class, and when he is out to get someone, he usually succeeds.A timeless, poignant and funny story about bullying from Newbery Medal-Winner Betsy Byars. Seller Inventory # AAZ9781782955344

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Byars, B
Published by Puffin Books
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1782955348 Brand New,original , printed in english , Ready to ship, fast delivery (5-8 busienss days ) worldwide. Seller Inventory # M30ZA17246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Byars, B
Published by Puffin Books
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Heidle S
(NEW MARSKE, REDCA, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1782955348 Brand New , we ship from UK , EU ,fast delivery wordwide ( 5-8 business days ). Seller Inventory # 121P17089

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Byars, B
Published by Puffin Books
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Heidle S
(NEW MARSKE, REDCA, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1782955348 Brand New , Original book , we ship from UK , EU ,fast delivery wordwide ( 5-8 business days ). Seller Inventory # 121MM14333

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Byars, B
Published by Puffin Books
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Heidle S
(NEW MARSKE, REDCA, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1782955348 Brand New , Original book , we ship from UK , EU ,fast delivery wordwide ( 5-8 business days ). Seller Inventory # 121MM31963

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.88
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Betsy Byars
Published by Red Fox (2015)
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox, 2015. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9781782955344

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.44
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

B Byars
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1782955348. Seller Inventory # ST1782955348

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Byars, Betsy
Published by Red Fox
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox. Condition: New. Mouse has a plan for every emergency. He knows how to survive a fall from a plane, what to do in quicksand, and how to bewilder a charging bull. But nohing - nobody - could be prepared for Marv Hammerman. Marv Hammerman, Neanderthal man, is twice as big as anyone else in the class, and when he is out to get someone, he usually succeeds. Num Pages: 192 pages, No illustrations. BIC Classification: YFS. Category: (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 200 x 129 x 14. Weight in Grams: 140. . 1983. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781782955344

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Byars, Betsy
Published by Red Fox (1983)
ISBN 10: 1782955348 ISBN 13: 9781782955344
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox, 1983. Condition: New. Mouse has a plan for every emergency. He knows how to survive a fall from a plane, what to do in quicksand, and how to bewilder a charging bull. But nohing - nobody - could be prepared for Marv Hammerman. Marv Hammerman, Neanderthal man, is twice as big as anyone else in the class, and when he is out to get someone, he usually succeeds. Num Pages: 192 pages, No illustrations. BIC Classification: YFS. Category: (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 200 x 129 x 14. Weight in Grams: 140. . 1983. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781782955344

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book