A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2)

3.86 avg rating
( 86 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781784290580: A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

We uncovered the last of the bodies in the red hour before dusk, as the sun stained the snowcaps of the Tian Shan mountains the color of dried blood and the spring air turned sharp and cold . . .

Inspector Akyl Borubaev of the Bishkek Murder Squad has been exiled to the far corner of Kyrgyzstan, but death and corruption still haunt him in the remote town where he has been stationed.

Borubaev soon finds himself caught up in a mysterious and gruesome new case: several children's bodies have been found buried together-all tagged with name bands that mark them as orphans, all killed in the same way. In his search for the truth behind the brutal killings, Borubaev hits a wall of silence, with no one to turn to outside his sometime lover, the beautiful and lethal undercover security service agent Saltanat Umarova.

When Borubaev himself is framed for the production of blood-soaked child pornography connected with the case, it looks as though things couldn't get any worse. With the investigation at a dangerous standstill, Borubaev sets out to save his integrity, and to deliver his own savage brand of justice on behalf of the many dead who can't speak for themselves . . .

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born in the North of England, Tom Callaghan was educated at the University of York and Vassar College, New York. An inveterate traveller, he divides his time between London, Prague, Dubai and Bishkek.

Review:

"Callaghan combines poetic descriptions and often eloquent prose with an unflinching examination of grisly subjects. Armchair travelers should appreciate not only the riveting plot but the chance to encounter this fascinating country."―Publishers Weekly

"[An] oddly fascinating novel...the writing and pacing are snappy and compelling in the best hard-boiled American style."―Booklist

"Get ready to be blown away by this series, Kyrgzstan comes to life like a kind of wild west where anything can, and does go"―For the Love of Books

Akyl comes across as a very real human being; one with a past, who is dealing with the baggage of a lifetime, one who hopes for better from life but doesn't expect it. Don't start this one late at night. The plot never seems to stop moving; you'll be up far later than you intended!―CA Reviews

Praise for A Killing Winter
"[A Killing Winter] establishes Callaghan as a major new voice in crime fiction with his cut-to-the-bone storytelling and descriptive brilliance. Many secrets remain to be revealed in Kyrgyzstan. Callaghan's debut is a tough, no-frills thriller with a Central Asian setting rife with dark secrets."―Kirkus Reviews

"Callaghan is a hell of a writer, with a tremendous sense of pace and an arch ear for juicy dialogue and the pages fly by."―Crime Thriller Fella

"Inspector Akyl Borubaev has world-weariness, sorrow, cynical charm, toughness and brains to spare . . . by the end of A Killing Winter you'll be breathless and begging for more."―Peter Spiegelman, author of Thick As Thieves

"After an effective noir opening, Callaghan's second thriller apes the blunt men's action novels of the 1970s and '80s . . . the provocative chemistry between the hero and his scorned lover-turned-sidekick keeps that action interesting."
Kirkus Reviews

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781784292430: A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1784292435 ISBN 13:  9781784292430
Publisher: Quercus Publishing, 2017
Softcover

9781848669741: A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2)

Quercu..., 2016
Hardcover

9781681443782: A Spring Betrayal (An Akyl Borubaev novel)

Quercus, 2016
Hardcover

9781787472501: A Spring Betrayal: An Inspector Akyl Borubaev Thriller (2)

Quercu..., 2018
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tom Callaghan
ISBN 10: 1784290580 ISBN 13: 9781784290580
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Inspector Akyl Borubaev's Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan is a lawless post-Soviet metropolis rife with corruption and vice. A hard-hitting thriller for fans of Tom Rob Smith and Gorky Park.We uncover.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 320 pages. 0.420. Seller Inventory # 9781784290580

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Callaghan, Tom
Published by Quercus (2016)
ISBN 10: 1784290580 ISBN 13: 9781784290580
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. . DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Seller Inventory # mon0000563791

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Tom Callaghan
ISBN 10: 1784290580 ISBN 13: 9781784290580
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Inspector Akyl Borubaev's Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan is a lawless post-Soviet metropolis rife with corruption and vice. A hard-hitting thriller for fans of Tom Rob Smith and Gorky Pa.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 320 pages. 0.420. Seller Inventory # 9781784290580

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 37.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Published by Quercus Publishing
ISBN 10: 1784290580 ISBN 13: 9781784290580
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1784290580

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 92.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Published by Quercus Publishing
ISBN 10: 1784290580 ISBN 13: 9781784290580
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111784290580

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 97.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds