Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

4.05 avg rating
( 35,795 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781785040184: Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Grit

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Angela Duckworth, PhD, is a 2013 MacArthur Fellow and professor of psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. She has advised the White House, the World Bank, NBA and NFL teams, and Fortune 500 CEOs. She is also the Founder and Scientific Director of the Character Lab, a nonprofit whose mission is to advance the science and practice of character development. She completed her BA in neurobiology at Harvard, her MSc in neuroscience at Oxford, and her PhD in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania. Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance is her first book and an instant New York Times bestseller.

Review:

One of "The Hottest Spring Nonfiction Books"
—The Wall Street Journal

A "Leadership Book to Watch for in 2016"
—The Washington Post

A "Must-Read Business Book for 2016"
—Forbes

One of "The Year's Best Life Hacks"
—Glamour

"Angela Duckworth [is] the psychologist who has made 'grit' the reigning buzzword in education-policy circles...Duckworth's ideas about the cultivation of tenacity have clearly changed some lives for the better...In this book, Duckworth, whose TED talk has been viewed more than eight million times, brings her lessons to the reading public."
—Judith Shulevitz, The New York Times Book Review

"It really isn't talent but practice—along with passion—that makes perfect, explains psychologist Duckworth in this illuminating book. Inspiration for non-geniuses everywhere."
—People

“Psychologists have spent decades searching for the secret of success, but Angela Duckworth is the one who found it. In this smart and lively book, she not only tells us what it is, but also how to get it.”
Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness

Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.”
Malcolm Gladwell, author of The Tipping Point, Blink, and Outliers

“Impressively fresh and original...Grit scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us.”
Susan Cain, author of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

“Fascinating. Angela Duckworth pulls together decades of psychological research, inspiring success stories from business and sports, and her own unique personal experience and distills it all into a set of practical strategies to make yourself and your children more motivated, more passionate, and more persistent at work and at school.”
Paul Tough, author of How Children Succeed

"If you have recently bumped into that word, grit, Duckworth is the reason...In education and parenting circles, her research has provided a much needed antipode to hovering, by which children are systematically deprived of the opportunity to experience setbacks, much less overcome them...What sticks with you [in Grit] are the testimonials, collected from sources as disparate as Will Smith, William James, and Jeff Bezos's mom, that relentlessly deflate the myth of the natural."
—The Atlantic

"Grit is a useful guide for parents or teachers looking for confirmation that passion and persistence matter, and for inspiring models of how to cultivate these important qualities."
—The Washington Post

“This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success.”
Dan Heath, co-author of Made to Stick, Switch, and Decisive

“Utterly captivating, inspiring and original...Once you pick up Grit, you won't be able to tear yourself away.”
Amy Cuddy, Harvard Business School professor and author of Presence

“Enlightening...Grit teaches that life’s high peaks aren’t necessarily conquered by the naturally nimble but, rather, by those willing to endure, wait out the storm, and try again.”
Ed Viesturs, Seven-Time Climber of Mount Everest and author of No Shortcuts to the Top

“I kept wanting to read this book aloud—to my child, my husband, to everyone I care about. There are no shortcuts to greatness, it's true. But there is a roadmap, and you are holding it.”
Amanda Ripley, author of The Smartest Kids in the World: And How They Got That Way

“Readable, compelling and totally persuasive. The ideas in this book have the potential to transform education, management and the way its readers live. Angela Duckworth’s Grit is a national treasure.”
Lawrence H. Summers, Former Secretary of the Treasury and President Emeritus at Harvard University

“Masterful...Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose.”
Arianna Huffington, author of Thrive

“I’m convinced there are no more important qualities in striving for excellence than those that create true grit...I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.”
Brad Stevens, Coach of the Boston Celtics

“Empowering...Angela Duckworth compels attention with her idea that regular individuals who exercise self-control and perseverance can reach as high as those who are naturally talented—that your mindset is as important as your mind.”
Soledad O’Brien, Chairman of Starfish MediaGroup and former co-anchor of CNN’s “American Morning”

"Engaging...With strong appeal for readers of Daniel H. Pink, Malcolm Gladwell, and Susan Cain, this is a must-have."
—Booklist

“Invaluable...In a world where access to knowledge is unprecedented, this book describes the key trait of those who will optimally take advantage of it. Grit will inspire everyone who reads it to stick to something hard that they have a passion for.”
Sal Khan, founder of Khan Academy

“A combination of rich science, compelling stories, crisp graceful prose, and appealingly personal examples...Without a doubt, this is the most transformative, eye-opening book I’ve read this year.”
Sonja Lyubomirsky, Professor, University of California, Riverside and author of The How of Happiness

“Incredibly important...There is deeply embodied grit, which is born of love, purpose, truth to one's core under ferocious heat, and a relentless passion for what can only be revealed on the razor’s edge; and there is the cool, patient, disciplined cultivation and study of resilience that can teach us all how to get there. Angela Duckworth's masterpiece straddles both worlds, offering a level of nuance that I haven’t read before.”
Josh Waitzkin, International Chess Master, Tai Chi Push Hands World Champion, and author of The Art of Learning

“A thoughtful and engaging exploration of what predicts success. Grit takes on widespread misconceptions and predictors of what makes us strive harder and push further...Duckworth’s own story, wound throughout her research, ends up demonstrating her theory best; passion and perseverance make up grit.”
Tory Burch, Chairman, CEO and Designer of Tory Burch

“I love an idea that challenges our conventional wisdom and 'grit' does just that! Put aside what you think you know about getting ahead and outlasting your competition, even if they are more talented. Getting smarter won't help you—sticking with it, will!”
Simon Sinek, author of Start With Why and Leaders Eat Last

"An informative and inspiring contribution to the literature of success."
—Publishers Weekly

“Profoundly important. For eons, we've been trapped inside the myth of innate talent. Angela Duckworth shines a bright light into a truer understanding of how we achieve. We owe her a great debt.”
—David Shenk, author of The Genius in All of Us: New Insights into Genetics, Talent, and IQ

“An important book...In these pages, the leading scholarly expert on the power of grit (what my mom called 'stick-to-it-iveness') carries her message to a wider audience, using apt anecdotes and aphorisms to illustrate how we can usefully apply her insights to our own lives and those of our kids.
—Robert D. Putnam, Professor of Public Policy at Harvard and author of Bowling Alone and Our Kids

“This book gets into your head, which is where it belongs...For educators who want our kids to succeed, this is an indispensable read.”
Joel Klein, former Chancellor, New York City public schools

"[Blends] anecdote and science, statistic and yarn...Not your grandpa's self-help book, but Duckworth's text is oddly encouraging, exhorting us to do better by trying harder, and a pleasure to read."
—Kirkus Reviews

Grit delivers! Angela Duckworth shares the stories, the science, and the positivity behind sustained success...A must-read.”
Barbara Fredrickson, author of Positivity and Love 2.0 and President of the International Positive Psychology Association

"A fascinating tour of the psychological research on success...A great service of Ms. Duckworth's book is her down-to-earth definition of passion. To be gritty, an individual doesn't need to have an obsessive infatuation with a goal. Rather, he needs to show 'consistency over time.' The grittiest people have developed long-term goals and are constantly working toward them."
—The Wall Street Journal

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781501111105: Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1501111108 ISBN 13:  9781501111105
Publisher: Scribner, 2016
Hardcover

9781785040207: Grit: Why passion and resilience are the secrets to success

Vermilion, 2017
Softcover

9781501111112: Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

Duckwo..., 2018
Softcover

9781785040191: Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

RANDOM..., 2016
Softcover

9781501144165: Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Angela Duckworth
Published by Vermilion
ISBN 10: 1785040189 ISBN 13: 9781785040184
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Housing Works Bookstore Cafe
(New York, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vermilion. Condition: Acceptable. General wear/soiling, a good reading copy. Hardcover. Seller Inventory # MA4-02539

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds