Stardust: Being a Romance Within the Realms of Faerie

4.08 avg rating
( 325,642 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781840230185: Stardust: Being a Romance Within the Realms of Faerie
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Tristan has lost his heart to the cool, distant Victoria, and in order to win her hand, he vows to retrieve a star they saw falling from the sky. To do this, he must go over an ancient wall, and is propelled into a world that is dangerous and strange beyond imagining. From the author of NEVERWHERE and GOOD OMENS.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love. His adventures in the magical land will keep you turning pages as fast as you can--he and the star escape evil old witches, deadly clutching trees, goblin press-gangs, and the scheming sons of the dead Lord of Stormhold. The story is by turns thrillingly scary and very funny. You'll love goofy, earnest Tristran and the talking animals, gnomes, magic trees, and other irresistible denizens of Faerie that he encounters in his travels. Stardust is a perfect read-aloud book, a brand-new fairy tale you'll want to share with a kid, or maybe hoard for yourself. (If you read it to kids, watch out for a couple of spicy sex bits and one epithet.) --Therese Littleton

From the Back Cover:

You have to believe. Otherwise, it will never happen.

Tristran Thorn promises to bring back a fallen star for his beloved, the hauntingly beautiful Victoria Forester--and crosses the wall that divides his English country town from another, more dangerous world of lords and witches, all of them in search of the star. Rich with adventure and magic, Stardust is one of master storyteller Neil Gaiman's most beloved tales.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061689246: Stardust

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0061689246 ISBN 13: 9780061689246
Publisher: HarperCollins, 2008
Softcover

9780062200396: Stardust: The Gift Edition

Willia..., 2012
Hardcover

9780062564344: Stardust

Willia..., 2016
Softcover

9788496940888: Stardust (Spanish Edition)

Roca, 2014
Softcover

9780061142024: Stardust

Willia..., 2006
Softcover