Keith Brooke The Accord

ISBN 13: 9781844165896

The Accord

3.29 avg rating
( 100 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781844165896: The Accord
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

1.  A core science fiction novel with wide commercial appeal

 

2.  Based on a short story chosen for Gardner Dozois's Year's Best Science Fiction

 

3.  Will appeal to fans of Charles Stross and The Matrix

 

4.  Author used to run a major SF website, infinity plus, and will receive wide review coverage

A tale of love, murder and revenge that crosses the boundaries between the real world and a virtual reality.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Keith Brooke’s first novel appeared in 1990, and he has published four more adult novels, two collections, and over 60 short stories. Since 1997 he has run the web-based SF, fantasy and horror showcase infinity plus (www.infinityplus.co.uk), featuring the work of around 100 top genre authors. His most recent novel, Genetopia, was published by Pyr and received a starred review in Publishers Weekly. Writing as Nick Gifford, his teen fiction is published by Puffin, with one novel optioned by Little Bird.

From Publishers Weekly:

Starred Review. In this expansion of a 2007 short story of the same name, British writer Brooke explores the nature of love, self and reality in the Accord, a virtual reality populated by digital recordings of real people's souls. Its creator, Noah Barakh, is having an affair with several copies of politician Priscilla Burham. When Priscilla's powerful husband, Jack, finds out, he murders Priscilla's physical self. Noah promptly commits suicide so his last upload can continue the fling safely, far away from Jack, setting off a cascade of heated confrontations, bodies being hijacked by recorded selves and real and virtual deaths. Multiple copies of various characters move between realities as Jack and Noah search for a version of Priscilla who can love them even as they seek to destroy each other. The emotion-driven love triangle neatly complements the tech- and philosophy-heavy nature of the Accord, making this rumination on posthumous, posthuman love a rare treat. (Mar.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

List Price: US$ 7.99
US$ 7.16

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781844167104: The Accord

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1844167100 ISBN 13:  9781844167104
Publisher: Solaris, 2009
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Keith Brooke
Published by Solaris (2009)
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Softcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Solaris, 2009. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781844165896

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Brooke, Keith
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1844165892

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Keith Brooke
Published by SOLARIS (2009)
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description SOLARIS, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. 1. A core science fiction novel with wide commercial appeal 2. Based on a short story chosen for Gardner Dozois s Year s Best Science Fiction 3. Will appeal to fans of Charles Stross and The Matrix 4. Author used to run a major SF website, infinity plus, and will receive wide review coverage A tale of love, murder and revenge that crosses the boundaries between the real world and a virtual reality. Seller Inventory # BZV9781844165896

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Keith Brooke
Published by SOLARIS (2009)
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description SOLARIS, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. 1. A core science fiction novel with wide commercial appeal 2. Based on a short story chosen for Gardner Dozois s Year s Best Science Fiction 3. Will appeal to fans of Charles Stross and The Matrix 4. Author used to run a major SF website, infinity plus, and will receive wide review coverage A tale of love, murder and revenge that crosses the boundaries between the real world and a virtual reality. Seller Inventory # BZV9781844165896

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Keith Brooke
Published by Solaris (2009)
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Solaris, 2009. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1844165892

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Brooke, Keith
Published by Solaris (2009)
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BookVistas
(New Delhi, India)

Book Description Solaris, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. 6.75 x 4.19 cm. Seller Inventory # BD1-9781844165896

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.23
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Brooke, Keith
Published by Solaris (2009)
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Vikram Jain Books
(New Delhi, India)

Book Description Solaris, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # BD1-9781844165896

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.23
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Brooke, Keith
Published by Solaris (2009)
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Solaris, 2009. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 416 pages. 6.75x4.25x1.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 1844165892

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.65
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Brooke, Keith
Published by Solaris
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Solaris. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1844165892 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW33.3110140

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Keith Brooke
Published by Solaris (2009)
ISBN 10: 1844165892 ISBN 13: 9781844165896
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Solaris, 2009. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1844165892n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 92.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds