Stuffed and Starved: From Farm to Fork the Hidden Battle for the World Food System

3.92 avg rating
( 2,030 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781846274794: Stuffed and Starved: From Farm to Fork the Hidden Battle for the World Food System
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The bestselling and groundbreaking book for readers of Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma and Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation

At no other time in history have people in wealthy countries had so much choice and so much abundance in what to eat. But in countries locked in a vicious cycle of poverty, there is no choice. There is no food.

Raj Patel shows us that these two extremes are deeply and inextricably linked. In Stuffed and Starved, he asks us to think about the way our food comes to us, to understand how what we buy directly affects the world’s poorest citizens and to recognize how we ourselves are poisoned by our choices. Patel gives us a broad view of the global food industry and the all-encompassing machine composed of organizations such as the World Bank and the WTO, corporate lobbyists, government agencies and the all-powerful distribution networks. He also traces the specific journey of coffee, soy and high-fructose corn syrup, from the fields to the kitchens of fast-food restaurants. Stuffed and Starved is a shocking and timely story of commercial greed, desperate hunger and inspirational alternatives to the current food system.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Raj Patel was educated at Oxford, the London School of Economics and Cornell University. He is currently a fellow at the Institute for Food and Development Policy in Oakland, California, a visiting researcher at the University of KwaZulu-Natal in South Africa and a visiting scholar at the Center for African Studies at the University of California at Berkeley. He has worked for the World Bank, interned at the WTO, consulted for the UN and been involved in international campaigns against his former employers. Visit Raj Patel at www.rajpatel.org.

Review:

One of the most dazzling books I have read in a very long time. The product of a brilliant mind, and a gift to a world hungering for justice.” (Naomi Klein, author of No Logo, The Shock Doctrine and This Changes Everything and No Is Not Enough)

“For anyone attempting to make sense of the world food crisis, or understand the links between U.S. farm policy and the ability of the world’s poor to feed themselves, Stuffed and Starved is indispensable.” (Michael Pollan, author of The Omnivore’s Dilemma and In Defense of Food)

“Compelling. At first glance, Raj is another depressing voice in the chorus. But in traveling the world researching the book, he also found hope in international social movements working to create more democratic, sustainable, and joyful food systems.” (Mark Bittman, The New York Times)

“A blistering indictment of the policies of multinational agribusiness conglomerates and charges that their drive for profit at any cost has left the developing world starving while wealthy countries like the United States are experiencing epidemic obesity rates and related health problems.” (Newsweek)

“Patel’s broad treatment helps the layman connect the dots, as well as hear the voices of those who occupy the lower rungs of the global food chain.” (Time magazine)

“A book full of insight, that makes an important contribution to understanding that the politics of food is not a narrow matter of shopping, ethical or otherwise.” (The Guardian (UK))

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781554680115: Stuffed And Starved

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1554680115 ISBN 13:  9781554680115
Publisher: Harper Perennial, 2009
Softcover

9780002008112: Stuffed and Starved

Harper..., 2008
Hardcover

9781846270109: Stuffed and Starved: Markets, Power and the Hidden Battle for the World Food System

Portob..., 2007
Hardcover

9781846270116: Stuffed and Starved: The Hidden Battle for the World Food System

Melvil..., 2008
Softcover

9781863953986: Stuffed & Starved : markets, Power & the hidden Battle for the World Food System

Black Inc, 2007
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Raj Patel
Published by GRANTA BOOKS, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description GRANTA BOOKS, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. We have so much choice over what we eat today because rural communities all over the world have had their choices taken away. To understand how our supermarket shopping makes us complicit in a system that routinely denies freedom to the world s poorest, and how we ourselves are poisoned by these choices, we need to think about the way our food comes to us. Stuffed and Starved takes a long and wide view of food production, to show how we all suffer the consequences of a food system cooked to a corporate recipe. This is also the story of the fight against the unthinking commerce that brings it to us. In the wrecked paddy fields of India, in the soy deserts of Brazil, in the maize ejidos of Mexico, the supermarket aisles of California, French McDonald s and Italian kitchens, there s a worldwide resistance against unhealthy control of the food system. Seller Inventory # AA99781846274794

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Raj Patel
Published by GRANTA BOOKS, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description GRANTA BOOKS, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. We have so much choice over what we eat today because rural communities all over the world have had their choices taken away. To understand how our supermarket shopping makes us complicit in a system that routinely denies freedom to the world s poorest, and how we ourselves are poisoned by these choices, we need to think about the way our food comes to us. Stuffed and Starved takes a long and wide view of food production, to show how we all suffer the consequences of a food system cooked to a corporate recipe. This is also the story of the fight against the unthinking commerce that brings it to us. In the wrecked paddy fields of India, in the soy deserts of Brazil, in the maize ejidos of Mexico, the supermarket aisles of California, French McDonald s and Italian kitchens, there s a worldwide resistance against unhealthy control of the food system. Seller Inventory # AA99781846274794

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Patel Raj, Patel Raj
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 16231446-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Raj Patel
Published by Granta Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Granta Books, 2013. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9781846274794

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.51
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Raj Patel
Published by Portobello Books Ltd (2013)
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portobello Books Ltd, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9781846274794_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

RAJ PATEL
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1846274796. Seller Inventory # ST1846274796

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Raj Patel
Published by Granta Books
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Granta Books. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781846274794

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Patel, Raj
Published by Portobello Books Ltd (2008)
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Portobello Books Ltd, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000756112

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Patel, Raj
Published by Granta Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Granta Books, 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # F6-9781846274794

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.81
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

PATEL, RAJ
Published by GROVE ATLANTIC LTD, ATLANTIC BOOKS
ISBN 10: 1846274796 ISBN 13: 9781846274794
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 8
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description GROVE ATLANTIC LTD, ATLANTIC BOOKS. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1846274796 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 6-8 business days worldwide delivery. Seller Inventory # DG#IL110723

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book