Black Chalk

3.3 avg rating
( 4,955 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781846557279: Black Chalk

A compulsively readable psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University, in which a group of six students play an elaborate game of dares and consequences, with tragic results One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, 14 years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. A gripping psychological thriller, partly inspired by the author's own time at Oxford University,  this is perfect for fans of The Secret History, The Bellwether Revivals, and The Lessons. Clever, dark, and compulsively readable, this is an ideal book group title: who knows better than your best friends, what would break you? The author's background in puzzle writing and setting can clearly be seen in the plotting of this clever, tricksy book that will keep readers guessing to the very end.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

How well do you know your best friends? How far would you go to protect them? How far would you go to break them? It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round.

From the Back Cover:

Tell me, what did we do that was so wrong?We played a game. That's all. A game.But then there were the consequences, the price paid for losing.We went too far.I went too far.But it was never supposed to be that sort of game.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 26.95
US$ 113.12

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Random House UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 1846557275 ISBN 13: 9781846557279
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111846557275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 113.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds