Christopher J. Yates Black Chalk

ISBN 13: 9781846557286

Black Chalk

3.27 avg rating
( 5,896 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781846557286: Black Chalk
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A compulsively readable psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University, in which a group of six students play an elaborate game of dares and consequences with tragic results One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University; a game of consequences, silly forfeits, and childish dares. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal and more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, 14 years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. Who knows better than your best friends what would break you? A gripping psychological thriller partly inspired by the author's own time at Oxford University, this is perfect for fans of The Secret History and The Bellwether Revivals. The author's background in puzzle writing and setting can clearly be seen in the plotting of this clever, tricky book that will keep readers guessing to the very end.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

How well do you know your best friends? How far would you go to protect them? How far would you go to break them? It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round.

From the Back Cover:

Tell me, what did we do that was so wrong?We played a game. That's all. A game.But then there were the consequences, the price paid for losing.We went too far.I went too far.But it was never supposed to be that sort of game.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781250075550: Black Chalk

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1250075556 ISBN 13:  9781250075550
Publisher: Picador, 2015
Softcover

9781846557279: Black Chalk

Random..., 2014
Hardcover

9780099581628: Black Chalk

Random..., 2015
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Yates, Christopher J.
Published by Random House UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 1846557283 ISBN 13: 9781846557286
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111846557283

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Christopher J. Yates
Published by Random House UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 1846557283 ISBN 13: 9781846557286
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1846557283

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 53.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds