The Gracekeepers

ISBN 13: 9781846559174

The Gracekeepers

3.61 avg rating
( 4,328 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781846559174: The Gracekeepers

For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future. 

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

— Finalist, Lambda Literary Award

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

North and her bear live on a circus boat, floating between the scattered archipelagoes that are all that remains of the land. To survive, the circus's acrobats, fire-swallowers and pony-tricksters must perform for the few fortunate islanders in return for food and supplies.

Callanish tends the watery graves along the equator as penance for a long-ago mistake. She craves forgiveness but instead must spend her days alone with the dying birds that mark people’s mourning for the dead.

A storm brings a change in both of their lives that they may not have been looking for, but that may bring them the peace and happiness they have silently yearned for. Will they have the courage to embrace the possibilities of a world where the old boundaries are dissolving?

About the Author:

KIRSTY LOGAN is an award-winning writer based in Scotland. She regularly performs her stories at events and festivals around the UK and Europe. The Gracekeepers is her debut novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Logan, Kirsty
Published by Penguin Random House (2015)
ISBN 10: 1846559170 ISBN 13: 9781846559174
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BookVistas
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # PRH-9781846559174

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.69
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Logan, Kirsty
Published by Penguin Random House (2015)
ISBN 10: 1846559170 ISBN 13: 9781846559174
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
A - Z Books
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # PRH-9781846559174

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.86
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds