Items related to Gob'S Grief

Adrian, Chris Gob'S Grief

ISBN 13: 9781847085825

Gob'S Grief

3.73 avg rating
( 593 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781847085825: Gob'S Grief
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
In the summer of 1863, Gob and Tomo Woodhull, eleven-year-old twins, agree to forsake their home and family for the glories of the Union Army. But on the night of their departure, Gob suffers a change of heart, and Tomo leaves his brother behind. When Tomo is shot clean through the eye in his very first battle, Gob is left to endure the guilt and grief that will later come to fuel his obsession with building a vast machine that will bring Tomo - indeed, all the Civil War dead - back to life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
Unlike many a novelist, Chris Adrian isn't intimidated by history. Indeed, he treats historical events as raw material, to be reshaped and reconfigured through the processes of the imagination. It's an endeavor that would please Walt Whitman, one of the central characters in this challenging debut, Gob's Grief. Nor is the good gray poet the only "real" character--both Abraham Lincoln and radical feminist Victoria Woodhull put in appearances, giving an extra twist of verisimilitude to Adrian's rendering of America circa 1863, where the Civil War rages and the dead proliferate like weeds.

Gob's Grief opens with the story of Tomo, the fictional son of Woodhull. At age 11, he dreams of escaping Homer, Ohio, to join the fighting. Unable to convince his twin brother, Gob, to accompany him, Tomo finally sets out alone and is promptly killed by a bullet through the skull. His twin never recovers from this loss. In thrall to his grief, Gob grows up to become a doctor, dedicating himself to healing the war's wounded. And by night, he toils away at a more unlikely corrective: a time machine that will eradicate death and bring back all the lost soldiers. His sidekick in this project is none other than Whitman, who shares his desire to resurrect those millions of departed souls: "Their marvelous passion would go out from them in waves, transforming time, history, and destiny, unmurdering Lincoln, unfighting the war, unkilling all the six hundred thousand."

Gob's Grief is an ambitious and occasionally convoluted story, which remains true to the stubborn mysticism of thinkers like Whitman and Woodhull. Cutting back and forth between characters and historical moments, Adrian never pretends to retrospective detachment. Indeed, his novel will appeal to fans of John Dos Passos or E.L. Doctorow--writers who borrow from history but repay their debt in the form of fictional insight. --Ellen Williams

From the Inside Flap:
In the summer of 1863, Gob and Tomo Woodhull, eleven-year-old twin sons of Victoria Woodhull, agree to together forsake their home and family in Licking County, Ohio, for the glories of the Union Army. But on the night of their departure for the war, Gob suffers a change of heart, and Tomo is forced to leave his brother behind. Tomo falls in as a bugler with the Ninth Ohio Volunteers and briefly revels in camp life; but when he is shot clean through the eye in his very first battle, Gob is left to endure the guilt and grief that will later come to fuel his obsession with building a vast machine that will bring Tomo?indeed, all the Civil War dead?back to life.
Epic in scope yet emotionally intimate, Gob?s Grief creates a world both fantastic and familiar and populates it with characters who breath on the page, capturing the spirit of a fevered nation populated with lost brothers and lost souls.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Shipping: US$ 4.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780375726248: Gob's Grief: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0375726241 ISBN 13: 9780375726248
Publisher: Vintage, 2002
Softcover

9780767902816: Gob's Grief: A Novel

Broadway, 2001
Hardcover

9781847085818: Gob'S Grief

Granta...
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Chris Adrian
Published by Granta Publications 2014-01-02, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781847085825

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chris Adrian
Published by Granta Books, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. In the summer of 1863, Gob and Tomo Woodhull, eleven-year-old twins, agree to forsake their home and family for the glories of the Union Army. But on the night of their departure, Gob suffers a change of heart, and Tomo leaves his brother behind. When Tomo is shot clean through the eye in his very first battle, Gob is left to endure the guilt and grief that will later come to fuel his obsession with building a vast machine that will bring Tomo - indeed, all the Civil War dead - back to life. Seller Inventory # AA99781847085825

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chris Adrian
Published by Granta 2014-01-02 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-TBS-9781847085825

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.63
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chris Adrian
Published by Granta Books
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. A magical story of grief and ghosts, set in the aftermath of the American Civil War. Seller Inventory # B9781847085825

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

ADRIAN,CHRIS
Published by Granta (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 400 pages. 7.80x5.08x0.98 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1847085822

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Adrian, Chris
Published by Granta Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New Softcover Quantity: 10
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. A magical story of grief and ghosts, set in the aftermath of the American Civil War Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 132 x 26. Weight in Grams: 276. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781847085825

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.99
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Adrian, Chris
Published by Granta Books
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New Softcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A magical story of grief and ghosts, set in the aftermath of the American Civil War Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 132 x 26. Weight in Grams: 276. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781847085825

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.78
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chris Adrian
Published by Granta 2014-01-02 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-TBS-9781847085825

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.19
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Chris Adrian
Published by Granta Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847085822 ISBN 13: 9781847085825
New PAP Quantity: 1
Seller:
PBShop.store UK
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # F6-9781847085825

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 30.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds