Core of Evil: A gripping thriller that will have you hooked (DCI Mark Lapslie Book 1)

3.66 avg rating
( 592 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781847243843: Core of Evil: A gripping thriller that will have you hooked (DCI Mark Lapslie Book 1)

A visceral thriller from the creator of the hit BBC drama Silent Witness, introducing synaesthetic detective DCI Mark Lapslie. Perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Angela Marsons. I've looked into the eyes of women who have banged nine-inch nails into the skulls of their victims with hammers ... we evaluate them, trying to determine whether they have actually changed, or whether there's still a core of evil within them...Before his diagnosis, DCI Mark Lapslie thought everyone was like him. Now he knows he suffers from synaethesthesia - a rare neurological condition that has cross-wired his senses. The sickening clamour of sounds he can taste has smothered his marriage and stifled his career. At the scene of a fatal traffic accident, Lapslie's interest isn't in the recently deceased driver, rather the desiccated corpse found lying next to him. Something about the body stirs a fleeting recollection at the back of Lapslie's mind... he can't quite put his finger on it, but he can almost taste it... Memories haunt Violet Chambers. Taking tea with her friend Daisy, she knows it's time to move on. As Daisy falls to the floor, eyes streaming, face burning, Violet calmly waits. Black hellebore is remarkably potent. It won't be long now. Discover the other books in the DCI Mark Lapslie series: Tooth and Claw, Scream, Thirteenth Coffin and Flesh and Blood.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nigel McCrery worked as a policeman, until he left the force to become an undergraduate at Cambridge University. He has created and written some of the most successful television series of the last ten years - his credits include Silent Witness, Born & Bred, New Tricks, All the King's Men and Back-Up. He is also the author of five internationally bestselling Sam Ryan mysteries. Nigel lives in London.

Review:

As repulsive and engaging a killer as any encountered in recent memory * Los Angeles Times * One of the most memorable monsters in modern crime fiction * Daily Express * An excellent new detective * Daily Mail * Gripping . . . a very sadistic murderer * Daily Mirror * DCI Mark Lapslie is Nigel's finest creation . . . Immaculately constructed and beautifully observed, it cried out to be made for television * Daily Mail *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nigel McCrery
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 1847243843 ISBN 13: 9781847243843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A visceral thriller from the creator of the hit BBC drama Silent Witness, introducing synaesthetic detective DCI Mark Lapslie. Perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Angela Marsons. I ve looked into the eyes of women who have banged nine-inch nails into the skulls of their victims with hammers . we evaluate them, trying to determine whether they have actually changed, or whether there s still a core of evil within them.Before his diagnosis, DCI Mark Lapslie thought everyone was like him. Now he knows he suffers from synaethesthesia - a rare neurological condition that has cross-wired his senses. The sickening clamour of sounds he can taste has smothered his marriage and stifled his career. At the scene of a fatal traffic accident, Lapslie s interest isn t in the recently deceased driver, rather the desiccated corpse found lying next to him. Something about the body stirs a fleeting recollection at the back of Lapslie s mind. he can t quite put his finger on it, but he can almost taste it. Memories haunt Violet Chambers. Taking tea with her friend Daisy, she knows it s time to move on. As Daisy falls to the floor, eyes streaming, face burning, Violet calmly waits. Black hellebore is remarkably potent. It won t be long now. Discover the other books in the DCI Mark Lapslie series: Tooth and Claw, Scream, Thirteenth Coffin and Flesh and Blood. Bookseller Inventory # AA69781847243843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Nigel McCrery
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 1847243843 ISBN 13: 9781847243843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A visceral thriller from the creator of the hit BBC drama Silent Witness, introducing synaesthetic detective DCI Mark Lapslie. Perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Angela Marsons. I ve looked into the eyes of women who have banged nine-inch nails into the skulls of their victims with hammers . we evaluate them, trying to determine whether they have actually changed, or whether there s still a core of evil within them.Before his diagnosis, DCI Mark Lapslie thought everyone was like him. Now he knows he suffers from synaethesthesia - a rare neurological condition that has cross-wired his senses. The sickening clamour of sounds he can taste has smothered his marriage and stifled his career. At the scene of a fatal traffic accident, Lapslie s interest isn t in the recently deceased driver, rather the desiccated corpse found lying next to him. Something about the body stirs a fleeting recollection at the back of Lapslie s mind. he can t quite put his finger on it, but he can almost taste it. Memories haunt Violet Chambers. Taking tea with her friend Daisy, she knows it s time to move on. As Daisy falls to the floor, eyes streaming, face burning, Violet calmly waits. Black hellebore is remarkably potent. It won t be long now. Discover the other books in the DCI Mark Lapslie series: Tooth and Claw, Scream, Thirteenth Coffin and Flesh and Blood. Bookseller Inventory # AA69781847243843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Nigel McCrery
ISBN 10: 1847243843 ISBN 13: 9781847243843
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Start At Page 1
(Emneth, WIsbech, NFK, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 2935

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.41
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Nigel McCrery
Published by Quercus
ISBN 10: 1847243843 ISBN 13: 9781847243843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9781847243843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Nigel McCrery
Published by Quercus Publishing (2008)
ISBN 10: 1847243843 ISBN 13: 9781847243843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1847243843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

McCrery, Nigel
Published by Quercus Publishing (2008)
ISBN 10: 1847243843 ISBN 13: 9781847243843
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FH-9781847243843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mccrery, Nigel
Published by Quercus Publishing Plc (2009)
ISBN 10: 1847243843 ISBN 13: 9781847243843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing Plc, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 398 pages. 7.80x5.08x0.94 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __1847243843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

McCrery, Nigel
Published by Quercus Publishing (2008)
ISBN 10: 1847243843 ISBN 13: 9781847243843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quercus Publishing, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111847243843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 44.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds