Marina Fiorato Madonna Of The Almonds

ISBN 13: 9781848547964

Madonna Of The Almonds

3.95 avg rating
( 1,446 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781848547964: Madonna Of The Almonds
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The second unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir. Bernardino Luini, favoured apprentice of Leonardo da Vinci, is commissioned to paint a religious fresco in the hills of Lombardy. His eye is caught by the beautiful Simonetta di Saronno, a young noblewoman who has lost her husband to battle, and whose fortune is gone. Captivated by her beauty and sadness, Bernardino paints Simonetta's likeness, immortalizing her as the Madonna in his miraculous frescoes in Saronno's church. As the sittings progress, artist and model fall in love, and Simonetta reciprocates Luini's genius by creating a drinnk for her lover from the juice of almonds - the famous Amaretto di Saronno. As the frescoes and the liqueur near their completion, the couple's affair distils into a heady brew of religious scandal which threatens their love, and ultimately their lives. Who is the mysterious Jew with a golden hand? And how does a mute young soldier affect Simonetta's destiny?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Marina Fiorato is half-Venetian. She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales. She is a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice. After university she studied art and has worked as an illustrator, actress and film reviewer. Marina was married on the Grand Canal and lives in north London with her husband, son and daughter. She is the author of five novels: The Glassblower of Murano, The Madonna of the Almonds, The Botticelli Secret, Daughter of Siena and The Venetian Contract. You can follow Marina on Twitter at @MarinaFiorato and find out more about her and her writing at www.marinafiorato.com

Review:

Praise for Marina Fiorato: 'A great read' Best 'Captures the scents, passion and vigour of Italy' Books Quarterly 'Fiorato creates her own masterpiece' Booklist 'Mesmerising' Waterstones Books Quarterly 'Recommended' Good Book Guide 'A sizzling ... read, and a must to pack in the suitcase' Italian Magazine 'The enchanting tale ... is rich with passion, mystery and intrigue' Booktime

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781905636433: The Madonna of the Almonds

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1905636431 ISBN 13:  9781905636433
Publisher: Beautiful Books, 2009
Softcover

9780753184929: The Madonna Of The Almonds

Isis L..., 2010
Hardcover

9780753184936: The Madonna Of The Almonds

Isis L..., 2010
Softcover

9781848415379: Madonna of the Almonds Signed Edition

Beauti...
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marina Fiorato
Published by HODDER & STOUGHTON, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 184854796X ISBN 13: 9781848547964
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HODDER & STOUGHTON, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The second unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.Bernardino Luini, favoured apprentice of Leonardo da Vinci, is commissioned to paint a religious fresco in the hills of Lombardy. His eye is caught by the beautiful Simonetta di Saronno, a young noblewoman who has lost her husband to battle, and whose fortune is gone. Captivated by her beauty and sadness, Bernardino paints Simonetta's likeness, immortalizing her as the Madonna in his miraculous frescoes in Saronno's church. As the sittings progress, artist and model fall in love, and Simonetta reciprocates Luini's genius by creating a drinnk for her lover from the juice of almonds - the famous Amaretto di Saronno.As the frescoes and the liqueur near their completion, the couple's affair distils into a heady brew of religious scandal which threatens their love, and ultimately their lives. Who is the mysterious Jew with a golden hand? And how does a mute young soldier affect Simonetta's destiny?. Seller Inventory # HUK9781848547964

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Marina Fiorato
Published by HODDER & STOUGHTON, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 184854796X ISBN 13: 9781848547964
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HODDER & STOUGHTON, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The second unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.Bernardino Luini, favoured apprentice of Leonardo da Vinci, is commissioned to paint a religious fresco in the hills of Lombardy. His eye is caught by the beautiful Simonetta di Saronno, a young noblewoman who has lost her husband to battle, and whose fortune is gone. Captivated by her beauty and sadness, Bernardino paints Simonetta's likeness, immortalizing her as the Madonna in his miraculous frescoes in Saronno's church. As the sittings progress, artist and model fall in love, and Simonetta reciprocates Luini's genius by creating a drinnk for her lover from the juice of almonds - the famous Amaretto di Saronno.As the frescoes and the liqueur near their completion, the couple's affair distils into a heady brew of religious scandal which threatens their love, and ultimately their lives. Who is the mysterious Jew with a golden hand? And how does a mute young soldier affect Simonetta's destiny?. Seller Inventory # HUK9781848547964

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Fiorato, Marina
Published by John Murray General Publishing Division (2012)
ISBN 10: 184854796X ISBN 13: 9781848547964
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description John Murray General Publishing Division, 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # HU-9781848547964

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds