Harriet Castor VIII

ISBN 13: 9781848774995

VIII

3.57 avg rating
( 945 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781848774995: VIII
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

VIII (EIGHT) is the untold story of Henry VIII, a gripping examination of how he turned from a charismatic teenager to the cruel tyrant he became in later life. Hal is a young, handsome and gifted warrior who believes he has been divinely chosen to lead his people. But throughout his life he is haunted by a ghostly apparition and, once he rises to power, he turns to murder and rapacious cruelty.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Harriet Castor (writing as H. M. Castor) is an accomplished writer and historian, who had her first book published by Puffin when she was fourteen. She has written historical non-fiction and fiction for younger children but this is her first novel for teens and young adults. Harriet studied History at Cambridge University, and has always been fascinated by the story of Henry VIII. Follow Harriet at www.hmcastor.com or on Twitter: @ HMCastor.

Review:

This biographical and psychological portrayal of one of England's most notorious rulers is a meaty read for Tudor history fans and general audiences alike. Prince Hal is repeatedly reminded, especially by his father, that nothing grand is expected of him, because he is the "spare" son. This spurs him into believing that he is destined for greatness, believing in a prophecy that he is fated to rule England. When his brother, Arthur, suddenly dies, Hal clashes even more with his father; when he informs his father that he believes in compassionate and visible signs of leadership, he is mocked by the monarch. Upon his succession, Hal's obsession with regaining France and having an abundance of sons causes him to negate marriage after marriage, either through execution or dissolution. Even though Henry VIII's actions are depressingly familiar, Castor presents each event with surprisingly freshness. The author artfully depicts the descent of Hal's childhood idealism and gentle character into the better-known cruel and despotic nature of Henry VIII. Too often, historical fiction is overwrought with florid description and exposition, but Castor consistently and evenly balances description, dialogue, and action. Necessary information about England's pre-Tudor past is easily incorporated into the narrative. Characters, even secondary ones, are fully realized. A faithful depiction of dialogue is sacrificed for more modern speech, but it is never distracting or awkwardly out of place. This is a satisfying and engrossing portrayal of an incredible personality. -- Jennifer Schultz * Fauquier County Public Library * 'an impressive psychological thriller' * Children's Buyers Guide * 'This is a new look at a much studied subject, and because it is written as a historical, psychological thriller it will bring Henry VIII to life for another generation' -- Clare Poole * The Bookseller * "In her original and convincing account of Henry as a child, HMC makes an excellent fist of presenting a sensitive and intelligent boy who, as the spare not the heir, tries in vain to win his father Henry VII's interest and approval. This novel of turbulent times bristles with atmosphere and tension. This well-plotted atmospheric novel with its original psychological perspective from HMC (shades of JKRowling) we can no doubt expect more historical novels as stunning and engrossing as this one". * Books for Keeps * 'A well paced story which certainly holds the reader and shows what a horrific and brutal place was the Tudor court' * Carousel * 'compelling and completely absorbing ... a gripping often spookily scary insight into Henry VIII for teenage readers' * TbK mag * 'this is historical fiction at its best but played out from a different angle ... with a contemporary and original writing style. It's also beautifully and lavishly produced in a hardback format' * Lovereading4kids * 'Accessible, enjoyable and full of fascinating details, VIII is a page turner that encourages readers to eschew pre-conceptions and to look at this Tudor icon in a fresh light' -- Linda Buckley-Archer * Teenage Fiction pick ,The Guardian * 'I wish VIII by H M Castor had been published years ago ...the book deals with the psychology of a neglected adolescent who suddenly finds himself venerated and apparently chosen by God' -- Merle Nygate * Guardian readers Books of the Year, The Guardian * 'try not to miss H M Castor's VIII - told as if from the lips of Britain's much married monarch, history comes alive from first page to last' -- Nicholas Tucker * The Independent * 'This is a great novel, both for Tudor fans who want to try something different, and for younger readers as it nicely introduces historical fact into this already exciting story. Definitely one to try!' * New Books * 'the gripping first-person narration paints a vivid picture of a young man haunted by strange visions, struggling to be loved, and convinced that his fate is to be a great ruler.' * The White Ravens * 'Unusual, enjoyable and totally fascinating, VIII, is an entertaining look at a great man's life as he might have seen it himself.' * South China Post * 'thought provoking, fast paced, gripping and fascinating.' * The SL * 'Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I would recommend it to people who like Tudor history and historical fiction readers. I think this book could be for Year 9s because they might understand more of the sub-plots.' -- Little M, We Sat Down Blog 'a brilliant portrayal of a historical figure which really brings out the man behind the king.' -- Jim * YA Yeah Yeah * just read it; it is awesome. It can easily be read in one sitting and will inspire a desire for more volumes. VIII is an ideal read-alike for The Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin. It is filled with fighting, scheming, and intrigue. Understanding family heritage and successions will be an enjoyable challenge for readers. Only follow-up searches for more British history will satisfy curious readers * VOYA *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harriet Castor
Published by Templar Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 1848774990 ISBN 13: 9781848774995
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Templar Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. VIII (EIGHT) is the untold story of Henry VIII, a gripping examination of how he turned from a charismatic teenager to the cruel tyrant he became in later life. Hal is a young, handsome and gifted warrior who believes he has been divinely chosen to lead his people. But throughout his life he is haunted by a ghostly apparition and, once he rises to power, he turns to murder and rapacious cruelty. Seller Inventory # AWC9781848774995

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Harriet Castor
Published by Templar
ISBN 10: 1848774990 ISBN 13: 9781848774995
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Templar. Hardcover. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781848774995

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.67
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Harriet Castor
Published by Templar Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 1848774990 ISBN 13: 9781848774995
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Templar Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. VIII (EIGHT) is the untold story of Henry VIII, a gripping examination of how he turned from a charismatic teenager to the cruel tyrant he became in later life. Hal is a young, handsome and gifted warrior who believes he has been divinely chosen to lead his people. But throughout his life he is haunted by a ghostly apparition and, once he rises to power, he turns to murder and rapacious cruelty. Seller Inventory # AWC9781848774995

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Harriet Castor
Published by Templar Publishing (2011)
ISBN 10: 1848774990 ISBN 13: 9781848774995
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Templar Publishing, 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1848774990

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 193.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds