DON'T VOTE - It Just Encourages the Bastards

3.58 avg rating
( 703 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781848879065: DON'T VOTE - It Just Encourages the Bastards
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In his new book, "DON'T VOTE - It Just Encourages the Bastards", best-selling political humorist P.J. O'Rourke writes the mirthful political theory companion to his classic political science book, Parliament of Whores. Best-selling humorist P.J. O'Rourke is back with his latest political masterpiece, "DON'T VOTE - It Just Encourages the Bastards". Using his signature wit and keen observational skills, O'Rourke reflects on his forty year career as a political commentator, spanning his addled hippie youth to his current state of right-wing grouch maturity. Proclaiming his political stance as to the right of Rush Limbaugh, O'Rourke explores ideas ranging from why Americans love freedom and the founding fathers' unique perspective on the pursuit of happiness to the modern application of the Bill of Rights, an odd document of which Americans are inordinately proud, that guarantees their rights to Twitter, kvetch, and prevent the Pentagon from sending Marines to sleep on fold-out couches. Far from the typical high school textbook's survey of United States history, "DON'T VOTE" takes a hysterically sharp look at some of the most important issues Americans face today. It is suitable for fans of Stephen Fry, Francis Wheen, David Aaronovitch, and Jeremy Clarkson.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

P.J. O'Rourke is the author of 12 books, including Parliament of Whores and Give War a Chance, both of which were No. 1 New York Times bestsellers. His most recent book is Driving Like Crazy.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

O Rourke P J
Published by Atlantic Books
ISBN 10: 1848879067 ISBN 13: 9781848879065
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books. Condition: New. 2010. Export & Airside ed. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781848879065

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

O Rourke P J
Published by Atlantic Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 1848879067 ISBN 13: 9781848879065
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2010. Condition: New. 2010. Export & Airside ed. Paperback. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781848879065

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Published by Grove Press
ISBN 10: 1848879067 ISBN 13: 9781848879065
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grove Press. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1848879067

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 217.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds