Almost French - A New Life In Paris

3.68 avg rating
( 12,069 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781863252850: Almost French - A New Life In Paris
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In the tradition of Frances Mayes' Under the Tuscan Sun, Chris Stewart's A Parrot in the Pepper Tree or Peter Mayle without the pile of stones, Almost French is a perceptive, poignant, often hilarious mixture of personal memoir and travel. As a student at University, Sarah Turnbull dropped French after failing the subject during her first year. Then, during a career break from journalism to travel the world, she finds herself changing her plans to settle permanently in Paris. Almost French is the witty account of her new life in Paris and the difficulties she faces in trying to integrate fully into Parisian culture while trying to establish herself as a freelance journalist. Sarah gives the reader a fascinating insight into her love/hate relationship with the French through humorous examples of runins with her new countrymen. Everything from using the correct language and etiquette to address everyone from the local baker to a senior figure in the French Ministry of Defence, from how you laugh and what you serve on your dinner table, to what you wear, all prove vital to being accepted as one of them. Finally, as the title suggests, Sarah succeeds in becoming 'almost French'.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Turnbull, Sarah
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Condition: Good. . Seller Inventory # P14H-00032

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Turnbull, Sarah
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Condition: Very Good. . Owner's name on endpage. Seller Inventory # SB02H-00884

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Turnbull, Sarah
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Paperback. Condition: Good. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Seller Inventory # G1863252851I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Turnbull, Sarah
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Paperback. Condition: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Seller Inventory # G1863252851I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Turnbull, Sarah
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Second City
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. Paperback. Condition: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Seller Inventory # G1863252851I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sarah Turnbull
Published by Bantam Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ceredigion Book Shop
(Nr Lampeter, CERED, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Books, 2002. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Very Good condition with no significant faults. Clearly used but very few minor defects. Will look good on your book case after reading but may not be suitable as a present unless hard to find elsewhere SECURE DAILY POSTING FROM UK. 30 DAY GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0002379387

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.18
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Turnbull, Sarah
Published by Bantam Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Books, 2002. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in good condition but will show signs of previous ownership. Please expect some creasing to the spine and/or minor damage to the cover. Seller Inventory # CHL2383773

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sarah Turnbull
Published by Bantam Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
TextbooksPro
(Dayton, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Books, 2002. Paperback. Condition: Used: Good. Book is in overall good condition!! Cover shows some edge wear and corners are lightly worn. Pages have a minimal to moderate amount of markings. FAST SHIPPING W/USPS TRACKING!!!. Seller Inventory # 220007755

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 2.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Turnbull, Sarah
Published by Bantam Books (2002)
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookbarn International
(Bristol, SOM, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Books, 2002. Paperback. Condition: Good. First edition. Sent within 24 hours. Expedited UK delivery available. Edition: First Printing. Seller Inventory # BBI2288839

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Turnbull, Sarah
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 1863252851 ISBN 13: 9781863252850
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sam Nayler
(Thetford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. PAPERBACK. Condition: Good. 1863252851 Books shipped daily. Professional seller. Seller Inventory # Z1863252851Z3

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.57
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book