Music and the Occult: French Musical Philosophies, 1750-1950 (Eastman Studies in Music)

3.6 avg rating
( 5 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781878822567: Music and the Occult: French Musical Philosophies, 1750-1950 (Eastman Studies in Music)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

This book is an adventure into the unexplored territory of French esoteric philosophies and their relation to music. Occultism and esoterism flourished in nineteenth-century France as they did nowhere else. The book beginswith the anti-Newtonian 'colour harpsicord' of Peere Castel, and closes with the disciples of Rene Guenon and their fierce anti-modernity. The major forces in between - Fabre d'Olivet, Charles Fournier, Wronski, Lacuria, Saint-Yves d'Alveydre, and their disciples - were all at odds with the world. They were truly Renaissance men ranging over the whole field of learning and not shying away from the enigmas that beset the human condition. For them, music was a blend of science and art that could bring insight into the cosmic order. Theirs was a speculative music in the tradition of Pythagoras, Plato, Ficino, and Kepler, which is generally thought to have died with the coming of the Enlightenment. On the contrary, as this book shows, it flourished more vigorously than ever.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Joscelyn Godwin is professor of music at Colgate University in Hamilton, New York.

Review:

Fascinating book. --Choice

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781878822536: Music and the Occult: French Musical Philosophies 1750-1950 (Eastman Studies in Music, No 3)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1878822535 ISBN 13:  9781878822536
Publisher: Univ of Rochester Pr, 1996
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Joscelyn Godwin
Published by Univ of Rochester Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 187882256X ISBN 13: 9781878822567
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ of Rochester Press, 1996. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11187882256X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 452.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Joscelyn Godwin
Published by Univ of Rochester Press (1996)
ISBN 10: 187882256X ISBN 13: 9781878822567
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Univ of Rochester Press, 1996. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M187882256X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 606.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds