Rachel Sherman The First Hurt: Stories

ISBN 13: 9781890447410

The First Hurt: Stories

3.78 avg rating
( 93 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781890447410: The First Hurt: Stories
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

From a young writer whose stories have graced the pages of today's most exciting literary journals, comes a masterfully elegant, sexy, and surprising debut. The publication of Rachel Sherman's first book heralds the arrival of a singularly fresh and remarkably assured new voice. In this brilliantly original story collection, she evokes the wonders and horrors of a young woman's life, from girl to teenager to adult, through crushes, sex, family, and the agonies and ecstasies of finding one's way. Sherman's beautifully direct and deceptively simple prose produces accessible, shockingly real narratives that combine a disarming sexual edge with great sensitivity and humor. From a high school girl's crush on her female teacher, to a family's serenity threatened by the presence of a sexy Danish au pair, to a pubescent girl's sexually outrageous soldier pen-pal, all the way to a young couple's horrifying yet life-affirming experience of learning to love their brain-injured newborn twins, this collection wends its way around the deepest of struggles with unusual frankness and wisdom. Fans of A. M. Homes, Mary Gaitskill, Mona Simpson, and Rick Moody will be thrilled at this auspicious and noteworthy debut.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"Rachel Sherman’s stories are real wonders--brave, dangerous fictions full of heart and wit. She gets to the creepy, despairing, hilarious core of adolescence like few writers I’ve read. This is an amazing debut." --Sam Lipsyte

"Rachel Sherman writes stories like splinters: they get under your skin and stay with you long after you've closed the book. These haunting stories are both wonderfully, deeply weird and unsettlingly familiar."--Judy Budnitz

"In this excellent first collection, the human body is a promise of future happiness and a source of present embarrassment. The prose is another matter: polished, poised, sure of itself. It's a very grown-up way of recording the queasy intimacies, the frighteningly raw perceptions, and the almost cosmic desolation of a suburban adolescence."--Benjamin Kunkel

About the Author:

Rachel Sherman was born in 1975. She holds an MFA in fiction from Columbia University. Her short stories have appeared in McSweeney’s, Open City, Post Road, Conjunctions, n+1, and Story Quarterly, among other publications, and in the book Full Frontal Fiction: The Best of Nerve.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sherman, Rachel
Published by Open City Books
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
P-Town Book Sales
(Petaluma, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Open City Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1890447412 New Condition. Slight shelf wear on cover. Seller Inventory # 9DV-DVFA-U001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rachel Sherman
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1890447412

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sherman, Rachel
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2006. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9781890447410

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sherman, Rachel
Published by Open City Books
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Open City Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1890447412. Seller Inventory # Z1890447412ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sherman, Rachel
Published by Open City Books
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Open City Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1890447412. Seller Inventory # Z1890447412ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sherman, Rachel
Published by Open City Books
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Open City Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1890447412. Seller Inventory # Z1890447412ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sherman, Rachel
Published by Open City Books
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Open City Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1890447412. Seller Inventory # Z1890447412ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sherman, Rachel
Published by Open City Books
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Open City Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1890447412. Seller Inventory # Z1890447412ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sherman, Rachel
Published by Open City Books
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Open City Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1890447412. Seller Inventory # Z1890447412ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Sherman, Rachel
Published by Open City Books
ISBN 10: 1890447412 ISBN 13: 9781890447410
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Open City Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1890447412. Seller Inventory # Z1890447412ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book