The Rhinoceros Who Quoted Nietzsche and Other Odd Acquaintances

4.11 avg rating
( 342 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781892391094: The Rhinoceros Who Quoted Nietzsche and Other Odd Acquaintances

2004 Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire winner

Peter S. Beagle’s The Rhinoceros Who Quoted Nietzsche and Other Odd Acquaintances celebrates the beginning of Beagle’s extraordinary career as a fantasist. Widely available for the first time and with a new preface by the author, this delightful book contains seven short stories and three essays by one of the most popular authors in the history of the fantasy field.

The Last Unicorn, Beagle’s most beloved novel, was an underground best-seller in the late 1960s and 1970s and is still in print and enchanting new readers today. It reached an audience far beyond the market for fantasy books, tying in with an emerging counter-culture and selling hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of copies. The Rhinoceros Who Quoted Nietzsche contains two of Beagle’s popular unicorn stories, Professor Gottesman and the Indian Rhinoceros” and Julie’s Unicorn,” as well as Lila the Werewolf” (anthologized in the Oxford Book of Fantasy) and a tribute to J. R. R. Tolkien, The Naga.”

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Peter S. Beagle is the best-selling author of The Last Unicorn, which has sold a reported five million copies since its initial publication in 1968. His other novels include A Fine & Private Place, The Innkeeper’s Song, and Tamsin. His short fiction has been collected in four volumes by Tachyon Publications, including The Rhinoceros Who Quoted Nietzsche, The Line Between, We Never Talk About My Brother, and Sleight of Hand. He has won the Hugo, Nebula, Mythopoeic, and Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire awards and the World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Review:

A celebration of Peter Beagle.”
Washington Post Book World

...Mixes classic tales with new gems, early stories, and various nonfiction. Beagle’s essay about D. H. Lawrence in Taos’is worth the price of the book.”
The Year’s Best Fantasy & Horror: 11th Annual Collection

...This collection proves just how essential Beagle is to modern fantasy. Without Beagle’s early example we’d have no Blaylock or Powers.... A story like The Naga’ is worthy of inclusion in the Arabian Nights.”
Asimov’s Science Fiction

...A nicely designed collection of Peter Beagle’s best short work.”
Mythprint

Werewolves, Unicorns, the Dreadful Specter of Death at a Ball you may think you’ve read these stories before. Peter S. Beagle demonstrates most eloquently that unless you’ve read his versions, you haven’t read these stories at all. Everything Beagle touches, he makes new. Every sentence he shapes encapsulates a song. This is both a delightful and moving collection.”
Michael Bishop

Peter S. Beagle is the magician we all apprenticed ourselves to. Before all the endless series and shared-world novels, Beagle was there to show us the amazing possibilities waiting in the worlds of fantasy, and he is still one of the masters by which the rest of the field is measured. I envy people reading these stories for the first time.”
Lisa Goldstein, author of The Uncertain Places

Peter S. Beagle would be one of the century’s great writers in any arena he chose; we readers must feel blessed that Beagle picked fantasy as a homeland. Magic pumps like blood through the veins of his stories. Imparting passionately breathing, singing, laughing reality to the marvelous is his great gift to us all.”
Edward Bryant

Peter S. Beagle is our best modern fabulist in the tradition of Hawthorne and Twain. From the dark pride in the story Come Lady Death” to the dignity and love rising from a rhino-emblazoned philosophy, the stories in this book make the Fantastic become real, the Real both dark and lovely.”
Jack Cady

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Beagle, Peter S.
Published by Tachyon Publications, San Francisco (2003)
ISBN 10: 1892391090 ISBN 13: 9781892391094
New Trade Paperback Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cargo Cult Books & Notions
(Berkeley, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tachyon Publications, San Francisco, 2003. Trade Paperback. Book Condition: New. Michael Dashow (cover) (illustrator). A retrospective collection of works by Peter S. Beagle, one of America's greatest living writers and fantasists. Originally published in 1997, this new edition contains an original preface by the author. Third edition, 2003. Book is in brand spanking new condition -- not a remaindered, library, or book club edition. SIGNED BY PETER S. BEAGLE. Signed at Orycon 2008 in Portland, OR; signature comes with Certificate of Authenticity. Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # 000304

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.43
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Peter S. Beagle
Published by Tachyon Publications (2003)
ISBN 10: 1892391090 ISBN 13: 9781892391094
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tachyon Publications, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 3. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1892391090

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 52.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Peter S. Beagle
Published by Tachyon Publications (2003)
ISBN 10: 1892391090 ISBN 13: 9781892391094
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tachyon Publications, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1892391090

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 60.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Peter S. Beagle
Published by Tachyon Publications (2003)
ISBN 10: 1892391090 ISBN 13: 9781892391094
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tachyon Publications, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111892391090

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 69.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Beagle, Peter S.
Published by Tachyon Publications 2003-09-01 (2003)
ISBN 10: 1892391090 ISBN 13: 9781892391094
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tachyon Publications 2003-09-01, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 3. 1892391090 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-1892391090

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 70.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Beagle, Peter S.
Published by Tachyon Publications
ISBN 10: 1892391090 ISBN 13: 9781892391094
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tachyon Publications. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1892391090 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0805315

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 74.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Beagle, Peter S.
Published by Tachyon Publications, San Francisco (2003)
ISBN 10: 1892391090 ISBN 13: 9781892391094
New Hardcover Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paul Clay Distinctive Editions
(Porter Ranch, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tachyon Publications, San Francisco, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Special Edition. **SIGNED COPY** One of a limited special issue of 250 Signed Hardbound copies. In 1997, 100 rough-edited copies of this title originally were issued in hardcover. The book subsequently was extensively corrected and re-edited into the version at hand, comprising the author's preferred text. This author's preferred edition was then released in 2003 by Tachyon in softcover, but for 250 copies which were bound into gold stamped black boards and issued as a limited special hardcover edition (un-numbered and without dustjacket), hand signed by the author. The copy at hand is one of the 250 special hardbound copies of the author's preferred text, which we recently obtained in person from Peter S. Beagle. A true treasure for the Peter S. Beagle fan and fantasy collector. Ships FAST!! and securely (in a well-padded box) from Southern California. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # ABE451B10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 145.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds