The Crucible of Power, The Collected Stories of Jack Williamson, Volume Five

4 avg rating
( 2 ratings by Goodreads )
9781893887220: The Crucible of Power, The Collected Stories of Jack Williamson, Volume Five
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

The fifth volume of a project to collect, in order of original publication, the short fiction of Science Fiction Grand Master Jack Williamson. Volume Five includes twelve stories from 1938 to 1940, and a foreword by author and popular culture expert Frank M. Robinson. Included are two true rarities: two stories that originally appeared under the pen-name Nils O. Sonderlund. These stories, originally appearing in MARVEL TALES, were considered "too sexy" to appear under Williamson's own name! An appendix reprints rare commentaries on this volume's contents as they originally appeared in the pulp magazines . The author provides an afterword commenting on the genesis of these stories, and reflecting on the economic and cultural mood of the nation during the early years of American Science Fiction. Contents include: "The Chivaree" (from the Portales Daily News) "The Dead Spot" (from Marvel Science Stories) "Nonstop to Mars" (from Argosy Weekly) "The Crucible of Power" (from Astounding Stories) "After World’s End" (from Marvel Science Stories) "Passage to Saturn" (from Thrilling Wonder Stories) "The Fortress of Utopia" (from Startling Stories) "Star Bright" (from Argosy Weekly) "As in the Beginning" (from Future Fiction) "Hindsight" (from Astounding Stories) "Mistress of Machine-Age Madness" (from Marvel Tales) As with the previous volumes in THE COLLECTED STORIES OF JACK WILLIAMSON, THE CRUCIBLE OF POWER is a smythe-sewn 6" x 9" hardcover bound in a custom-dyed cloth, and typeset in a format designed in honor of the Fantasy Press editions of Williamson's first books from the 1940s & 50s. Full-color endpapers reproduce the pulp magazine cover art for each story's first appearance.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born in 1908 on a hard-scrabble dirt ranch, Jack Williamson is one of the true pioneers of science fiction. Since his first publication in Amazing Stories in 1928 he has written some of science fiction’s acknowledged classics including The Humanoids, The Legion of Space, and Darker Than You Think. He has been credited with developing modern concepts of artificial intelligence, anti-matter, and genetic engineering. With time away from writing as an Army weather forecaster in World War II, and earning a Ph.D. in English literature at the age of fifty, he taught one of the first SF courses in a university curriculum. In 1976 he was named a Grandmaster by the Science Fiction Writers of America. His fifty-fourth novel, The Stonehenge Gate, is forthcoming in 2005. He lives and works in Portales, New Mexico.


“Haffner’s as-yet-uncompleted achievement in resurrecting...Jack Williamson's short fiction is as good as publishing gets." --Paul Di Filippo,

"I have no hesitation in placing Jack Williamson on a plane with two other giants, Isaac Asimov and Robert Heinlein." --Sir Arthur C. Clarke

"This man can do anything." --Frederik Pohl, author of Gateway

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Jack Williamson
Published by Haffner Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 1893887227 ISBN 13: 9781893887220
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Haffner Press, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB1893887227

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 438.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds