Cherokee Bat and the Goat Guys

3.95 avg rating
( 2,236 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781904233046: Cherokee Bat and the Goat Guys

With their parents away, four young people form a rock band that becomes wildly popular, carrying them into a "freer" life than they can cope with

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Francesca Lia Block, winner of the prestigious Margaret A. Edwards Award, is the author of many acclaimed and bestselling books, including Weetzie Bat; the book collections Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books and Roses and Bones: Myths, Tales, and Secrets; the illustrated novella House of Dolls; the vampire romance novel Pretty Dead; and the gothic werewolf novel The Frenzy. Her work is published around the world.

From Publishers Weekly:

Fans of Weetzie Bat and Witch Baby will be delighted with this latest opportunity to reenter Block's magical vision of Los Angeles. With the grown-ups who make up the Bat household off making a film in South America, Cherokee and her "almost-sister" Witch Baby are left to their own devices. The adventure begins when Cherokee, acting on the advice of the family's mystic friend Coyote, makes a pair of wings for Witch Baby in order to lift her from the deep, mud-eating gloom into which she has fallen. Raphael and Angel Juan--the two other members of The Goat Guys, the rock band Cherokee and Witch Baby have formed--soon have magical costumes, too. But as the band's fame grows, the costumes exert a corrupting influence on the teenagers. The band's gradual immersion in sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll certainly is enthralling but many readers will be relieved when the group finally decides to abandon the dangerous activities that have clouded its members' individual roads to self-discovery. And much to her credit, Block's satisfying ending suggests that Weetzie Bat and her extended family--true to their characters--take the teenagers' experimentation and rebellion in stride. This latest effort provides yet another delicious and deeply felt trip to Block's wonderfully idiosyncratic corner of California. Ages 12-up.
Copyright 1992 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Block, Francesca Lia
Published by Atom (2002)
ISBN 10: 190423304X ISBN 13: 9781904233046
New paperback / softback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Allyouneedisbooks Ltd
(Westbury, WILTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atom, 2002. paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. 1st edition 1st printing trade paperback, new In stock shipped from our UK warehouse. Bookseller Inventory # 29222

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Block, Francesca Lia
Published by Atom (2002)
ISBN 10: 190423304X ISBN 13: 9781904233046
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Swan Books
(Essex, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atom, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. There's magic in this story. Wild, crazy and unpredictable magic. The kind of magic that can transform a group of four talented friends into the coolest most happening band in LA. Raphael, Angel Juan, Witch Baby and Cherokee. they are the Goat Guys. Their music will fill your soul and blow your mind. So long as they control it. and themselves. Bookseller Inventory # 017830

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 20.09
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds