Darragh Martin The Keeper

ISBN 13: 9781908195845

The Keeper

3.87 avg rating
( 31 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781908195845: The Keeper

"A new star of the fantasy genre . . . kids will gobble up this magical treat. The Keeper is far too good for my liking. Martin must be stopped."  —Eoin Colfer, Artemis Fowl series

 Ordinary books don’t move. Ordinary books are quite happy waiting to be picked up. You could leave an ordinary book somewhere uncomfortable—at the bottom of a dark schoolbag or in the middle of a shop window—and it wouldn’t dare budge, even if it had to sneeze. Nobody had told the Book of Magic this, though, so it jumped into Oisín’s hands without so much as a flap of its pages.

Oisín is not sure he wants to be Keeper of the Book of Magic—but when his little sister Sorcha is kidnapped by the Morrígan, a raven-goddess with a heart as dark as her feathers, he has to learn how to use the Book for good. Soon Oisín has a long journey ahead of him with only Stephen, his annoying older brother, and Antimony, a headstrong orphan with her own quest, to help him. Facing snow snakes, shadow fish, and mountains of wind, the three children have to decide whether or not they can trust each other—and the mysterious Book that’s leading them—if they want to reach the Morrígan’s Hill of Bones before it’s too late to get the last ever train home. This thrilling Celtic fantasy is perfect for fans of J. K. Rowling, Eoin Colfer, and J. R. R. Tolkien. A map and a glossary are included.


"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Darragh Martin was given a Fulbright Scholarship to develop his writing in 2006. He teaches literature at Columbia University and lives in New York City.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 7 Up—Twelve-year-old Oisin Keane has grown up in the suburbs of Dublin without the slightest clue that he coexists with the ancient magic of the land. He and his youthful looking Granny Keane are the only members of the family with green eyes. Celtic folklore and legends attribute magical powers to those with green eyes, because green is said to be the color of Fairies' eyes. While in his granny's spare room, Oisin is chosen by the Book of Magic, one of the only remaining relics from the Dagda's cauldron. The Dagda was a High King of immense power who is associated with a magical cauldron that held the five gifts of Ireland. The work is the key to finding the five other books of magic. The longer Oisin holds the book, the stronger the bond between them grows, making him the Keeper of the Book of Magic. As a result of this new position, he and his siblings are attacked by Great Queen Morrigan. When she kidnaps his little sister, it's up to Oisin and his brother to put away their sibling rivalry and save not only their little sister but the balance of the world. The well-crafted story line will hold fantasy readers captive. With each chapter, a new challenge arises, and kids will be happy to join the protagonist every step of the way. VERDICT Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter will enjoy this fast-paced high fantasy adventure that adds a refreshing twist to Celtic myths and legends.—Sabrina Carnesi, Crittenden Middle School, Newport News, VA

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 15.99
US$ 9.09

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 11.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Darragh Martin
Published by Little Island (2013)
ISBN 10: 1908195843 ISBN 13: 9781908195845
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Learnearly Books
(Doncaster, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little Island, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Rapidly dispatched worldwide from our clean, automated UK warehouse within 1-2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000041519

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Darragh Martin
Published by Little Island Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1908195843 ISBN 13: 9781908195845
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little Island Books, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111908195843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 46.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds