Cesar Aira The Little Buddhist Monk

ISBN 13: 9781908276988

The Little Buddhist Monk

3.35 avg rating
( 34 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781908276988: The Little Buddhist Monk

In Korea, a little Buddhist monk (really very dwarf-sized) dreams of the Western world and secretly reads up on Western culture. When he meets the holidaying French couple Napoleon Chirac and Jacqueline Bloodymary he offers his services as their guide, in the hope they will take him, a penniless monk, to Europe. He whisks them off on a tour of the temples. Among the many twists and turns, our stunned tourists encounter a suicidal horse and discover that a person can also be a robot. Though our monk appears to them as the very spirit of tourism, nothing is natural in this tour de force of Aira's twisted imagination.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Cesar Aira is the author of around 80 books of his own. His writing is considered to be among the most important and influential in Latin America today, and is marked by extreme eccentricity and innovation, as well as a playful spirit. He is without a doubt the true heir to Jorge Luis Borges' literature of ideas.

Review:

'Once you've started reading Aira, you don't want to stop.' Roberto Bolano --------- 'Hail Cesar!' Patti Smith --------- 'Aira writes at full tilt, going where the words take him (a style he calls "constant flight forward") so that reading him is dizzying.' Jane Housham, The Guardian ---------- 'Bewitching and bewildering ... Compulsively readable ... Aira's writing - with its equal measures of rich complications and airy whimsies - combines brevity with so many possible meanings, or none.' Arifa Akbar, Financial Times --------- 'Surreal and intriguing ... a drama is as fun as it is mystifying.' The Guardian --------- 'A work of literary trigonometry. The prose bounds along with a gleeful spring in its step, dragging the improbable story behind it ... If you're happy to have your buttons pushed, then you'll fall for this shaggy-dog-story-on-shrooms, and fall hard.' Roger Cox, The Scotsman --------- 'Funny, poetic and wonderfully readable ... Idiosyncratic and vivacious, The Seamstress and the Wind reads more like an afternoon in the pub with a dreamy Eddie Izzard than a sit-down session exploring prose form with Eimear McBride, and is all the better for it.' Big Issue --------- 'Sophisticated and energetic writing which will leave you scratching your head with curious wonder ... I admire the sheer uncompromising audacity and verve of this novel.' The Lonesome Reader ---------- 'Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald.' Mark Doty, Los Angeles Times ---------- 'It works as a piece of art whose fresh, gorgeous images carry rich meanings about the nature of transformation. But it also works as a story that makes you miss your subway stop.' Electric Literature

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Cesar Aira
Published by And Other Stories, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description And Other Stories, United Kingdom, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In Korea, a little Buddhist monk (really very dwarf-sized) dreams of the Western world and secretly reads up on Western culture. When he meets the holidaying French couple Napoleon Chirac and Jacqueline Bloodymary he offers his services as their guide, in the hope they will take him, a penniless monk, to Europe. He whisks them off on a tour of the temples. Among the many twists and turns, our stunned tourists encounter a suicidal horse and discover that a person can also be a robot. Though our monk appears to them as the very spirit of tourism, nothing is natural in this tour de force of Aira s twisted imagination. Bookseller Inventory # AAU9781908276988

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Cesar Aira
Published by And Other Stories, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description And Other Stories, United Kingdom, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In Korea, a little Buddhist monk (really very dwarf-sized) dreams of the Western world and secretly reads up on Western culture. When he meets the holidaying French couple Napoleon Chirac and Jacqueline Bloodymary he offers his services as their guide, in the hope they will take him, a penniless monk, to Europe. He whisks them off on a tour of the temples. Among the many twists and turns, our stunned tourists encounter a suicidal horse and discover that a person can also be a robot. Though our monk appears to them as the very spirit of tourism, nothing is natural in this tour de force of Aira s twisted imagination. Bookseller Inventory # AAU9781908276988

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Aira, Cesar
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 28532930-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Cesar Aira, Nick Caistor
Published by And Other Stories 2017-03-23 (2017)
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description And Other Stories 2017-03-23, 2017. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05560952

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Aira, Cesar
Published by And Other Stories (2017)
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description And Other Stories, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002465779

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.66
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Cesar Aira
Published by And Other Stories (2017)
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description And Other Stories, 2017. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9781908276988

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.52
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Aira, Cesar
Published by And Other Stories
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description And Other Stories. Book Condition: New. In Korea, a little Buddhist monk dreams of the Western world. He meets the holidaying French couple Napoleon Chirac and Jacqueline Bloodymary and offers to be their guide, in the hope they will take him to Europe. But though our monk seems the very spirit of tourism, nothing is natural in this tour de force of Aira's twisted imagination. Translator(s): Caistor, Nick. BIC Classification: FA; FYT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129. . . 2017. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9781908276988

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Aira, Cesar
Published by And Other Stories (2017)
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Rating
[?]

Book Description And Other Stories, 2017. Book Condition: New. In Korea, a little Buddhist monk dreams of the Western world. He meets the holidaying French couple Napoleon Chirac and Jacqueline Bloodymary and offers to be their guide, in the hope they will take him to Europe. But though our monk seems the very spirit of tourism, nothing is natural in this tour de force of Aira's twisted imagination. Translator(s): Caistor, Nick. BIC Classification: FA; FYT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129. . . 2017. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9781908276988

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Cesar Aira
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1908276983. Bookseller Inventory # ST1908276983

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Cesar Aira
Published by And Other Stories (2017)
ISBN 10: 1908276983 ISBN 13: 9781908276988
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description And Other Stories, 2017. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9781908276988_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.17
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book