Greed: A Detective John Lynch Thriller

4.46 avg rating
( 35 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781909223165: Greed: A Detective John Lynch Thriller
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"Ex-Marine, Nick Hardin, heads back from a decade in Africa to his hometown, Chicago, with $100 million in blood diamonds stolen from an Al Qaeda's financing pipeline. His retirement plan? To cash out through a Chicago Mossad contact and head for the beach. But soon, Hardin's stuck in Chicago with diamonds he can't sell and a series of hit men, mobsters, and a Washington off-the-books black ops team on his tail. The resulting body count leaves Chicago detective John Lynch trying to find connections amongthe victims, while simultaneously solving the murder of a dead infectious disease expert who'd drafted a biological weapons plan that could turn Chicago into a ghost town."--Page 4 of cover.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Dan O'Shea is a Chicago-area writer. His first two thrillers, Penance and Mammon, will be published by Exhibit A. Drawing on Chicago's settings and history, the novels explore the city's history of corruption, but with a national, even international flavour. Dan is also the author of Old School, a collection of short fiction published by Snubnose Press. Dan would be a handsome gent if he could just stop breaking his nose. Find Dan Online: danielboshea.wordpress.com and @dboshea

Review:

For Penance: "To classify Penance as a mere police procedural would be to do it a serious injustice. Because, you see, like all good crime fiction, this book is about so much more than its back cover copy might suggest. The author, Dan O'Shea, calls Penance a "multi-generational tale of what happens when family secrets and dirty politics are blown into the light of day by a madman with a gun, all set against Chicago's history and culture of corruption." That's certainly an accurate - and eloquent - description, but it offers only the subtlest of hints at the depth that lies within; when you crack the cover of this novel, you'll discover there's a whole lot more there, lurking just below the surface. Buy yourself a copy of Penance, and prepare to dive in." - Katrina Niidas Holm, Criminal Element. "Penance is part detective novel and part thriller - like Michael Connelly crossed with Robert Ludlum (think Harry Bosch with extra fire power and added international intrigue). Penance is also aided by being a novel of ideas with strong themes - past sins returning; the importance of redemption - which prevent it from turning into a shoot-em-up." - Killing Time. "Wonder how Harry Bosch would read walking the streets of Michael Mann's Chicago? Look no further than Detective John Lynch. Smart, sophisticated and as serious as a .45 in full battery, Penance makes the bulk of cliche-riddled crime fiction sound flat-footed by comparison." - Peter Farris, author of Last Call for the Living. "Penance is a rare novel, at once staggering in scope and achingly human. A brutal, white-knuckled tale of betrayal and redemption in which the sins of the fathers are laid upon their children tenfold, O'Shea's astonishing debut delivers pulse-pounding thrills and the beating heart to match. Fans of Le Carre and Lehane had best take note." - Chris F. Holm, author of Dead Harvest and The Wrong Goodbye. "Penance is a rich, gritty, terrific novel. O'Shea can throw a punch and turn a phrase with the very best of them. Even better, he knows the human heart inside out." - Lou Berney, author of Gutshot Straight and Whiplash River. "A non-stop adrenaline rush, beginning, middle and end; half Stephen Hunter, half American Tabloid, Daniel O'Shea's Penance is a bona fide blockbuster." - Owen Laukkanen, author of The Professionals. "Penance has one foot in Bourne and the other in The Untouchables, but tells a very human story of loss and atonement. A great thriller that ranges from the streets of 1970';s Chicago to the highest levels of modern power, with tight dialogue and righteuous violence. One for fans of crime, espionage and mayhem." - Jay Stringer, author of Old Gold.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781909223158: Greed (A Detective John Lynch Chicago Thriller)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1909223158 ISBN 13:  9781909223158
Publisher: Exhibit A, 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Dan O'Shea
Published by Exhibit A (2013)
ISBN 10: 1909223166 ISBN 13: 9781909223165
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Exhibit A, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1909223166

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

O'shea, Dan
Published by Exhibit A (2013)
ISBN 10: 1909223166 ISBN 13: 9781909223165
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Exhibit A, 2013. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 412 pages. 8.50x5.50x1.15 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 1909223166

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.56
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds