Emily Pohl-Weary Ghost Sick

ISBN 13: 9781926639826

Ghost Sick

4.93 avg rating
( 14 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781926639826: Ghost Sick
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Winner:
2016 Fred Cogswell Award for Excellence in Poetry

After a Christmas Eve shooting that devastated author Emily Pohl-Weary’s family, she began to hunt through the sorrow and trauma for a sense of hopefulness. In the tradition of Carolyn Forché, Ernesto Cardenal, and Shu Ting, Ghost Sickness is a poetry of witness. It chronicles the impact of violence and poverty on an inner-city Toronto neighborhood, the power of empathy, and the resilience of the human spirit.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Emily Pohl-Weary is an award-winning author, editor, arts educator, and academic. She is the author of several books, including the novels A Girl Like Sugar and Strange Times at Western High; the young adult novel Not Your Ordinary Wolf Girl; the poetry collection Iron-on Constellations; and the biography Better to Have Loved: The Life of Judith Merril, which won a Hugo Award for Best Related Book.

Review:

"The poems in Ghost Sick coalesce into a very strong, coherent collection that should be read from cover to cover . . . this is a book that looks forward towards a better city, better citizens, and a better society." —Andrew Woodrow-Butcher, Broken Pencil

"Pohl-Weary’s gritty vernacular got game, got street cred . . . Like Holocaust witness poet Paul Celan, Pohl-Weary checks tabloids, billboards, newsflashes, for the language to bespeak domesticated violence." —George Elliot Clarke, Halifax Chronicle-Herald

"Ghost Sick takes your breath away and leaves you wanting more. A great read that makes you think about what it means to bear witness to tragedy." —Christine Smith, Shameless

"Ghost Sick by Emily Pohl-Weary is a collection of poems that witness. They are testimony, commentary, and emotional responses." —Serena Augusto-Cox, savvyverseandwit.com

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pohl-Weary, Emily
Published by Paul and Co Pub Consortium (2014)
ISBN 10: 1926639820 ISBN 13: 9781926639826
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paul and Co Pub Consortium, 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # TI-9781926639826

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Pohl-Weary, Emily
ISBN 10: 1926639820 ISBN 13: 9781926639826
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1926639820

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Emily Pohl-Weary
Published by Tightrope Books, Canada (2015)
ISBN 10: 1926639820 ISBN 13: 9781926639826
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tightrope Books, Canada, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. After a Christmas Eve shooting that devastated author Emily Pohl-Weary's family, she began to hunt through the sorrow and trauma for a sense of hopefulness. In the tradition of Carolyn Forche, Ernesto Cardenal, and Shu Ting, Ghost Sickness is a poetry of witness.It chronicles the impact of violence and poverty on an inner-city Toronto neighbourhood, the power of empathy, and the resilience of the human spirit. Seller Inventory # UGH9781926639826

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Emily Pohl-Weary
Published by Tightrope Books, Canada (2015)
ISBN 10: 1926639820 ISBN 13: 9781926639826
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tightrope Books, Canada, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. After a Christmas Eve shooting that devastated author Emily Pohl-Weary's family, she began to hunt through the sorrow and trauma for a sense of hopefulness. In the tradition of Carolyn Forche, Ernesto Cardenal, and Shu Ting, Ghost Sickness is a poetry of witness.It chronicles the impact of violence and poverty on an inner-city Toronto neighbourhood, the power of empathy, and the resilience of the human spirit. Seller Inventory # UGH9781926639826

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Emily Pohl-Weary
Published by Tightrope Books, Canada (2015)
ISBN 10: 1926639820 ISBN 13: 9781926639826
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tightrope Books, Canada, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. After a Christmas Eve shooting that devastated author Emily Pohl-Weary's family, she began to hunt through the sorrow and trauma for a sense of hopefulness. In the tradition of Carolyn Forche, Ernesto Cardenal, and Shu Ting, Ghost Sickness is a poetry of witness.It chronicles the impact of violence and poverty on an inner-city Toronto neighbourhood, the power of empathy, and the resilience of the human spirit. Seller Inventory # BTE9781926639826

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Emily Pohl-Weary
Published by Tightrope Books
ISBN 10: 1926639820 ISBN 13: 9781926639826
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tightrope Books. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781926639826

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Pohl-Weary, Emily
Published by Tightrope Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1926639820 ISBN 13: 9781926639826
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tightrope Books, 2015. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # CE-9781926639826

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Pohl-Weary, Emily
Published by Tightrope Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1926639820 ISBN 13: 9781926639826
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tightrope Books, 2015. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 106 pages. 7.75x5.00x0.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1926639820

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds