Wei Zhang September's Fable: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781931907460

September's Fable: A Novel

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781931907460: September's Fable: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

September's Fable tells the story of the rise and fall of a Chinese coastal village through its difficult formation, hard existence and inevitable disintegration. Spanning approximately sixty years, the novel is a rich and intriguing tapestry of life and death in rural China. Somewhat in the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel García Márquez, September's Fable weaves history, politics, and folklore close together to bring an enchanting way of storytelling that dexterously touches on such universal themes as love and hate, war and revolution, city and country, the noble and the ugly, and, more importantly, the inevitability of the old superseded by the new and young.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born in 1956 in a small seaside town of eastern China, Zhang Wei has published ten novels, over a dozen novellas and numerous short stories, essays and poems. He has won more than thirty important national and international literary prizes. Zhang Wei is regarded as one of the Ten Most Important Chinese Writers of the 1990s, and his novel September s Fable is regarded as one of the Ten Most Important Chinese Literary Works of the 1990s.

Review:

One of contemporary China's most prolific and widely respected novelists, Zhang Wei has remained a secret in the West. This fine translation of one of his most complex novels will change that, and is a welcome addition to the growing corpus of Chinese fiction in English. --Howard Goldblatt, Professor of Chinese, University of Notre Dame, and the foremost translator of contemporary Chinese literature in the West

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wei Zhang
Published by Homa & Sekey Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 1931907463 ISBN 13: 9781931907460
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Homa & Sekey Books, 2007. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1931907463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wei Zhang, Terence Russell (Translator), Shawn Xian Ye (Translator)
Published by Homa & Sekey Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 1931907463 ISBN 13: 9781931907460
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Homa & Sekey Books, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1931907463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wei Zhang
Published by Homa & Sekey Books
ISBN 10: 1931907463 ISBN 13: 9781931907460
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Homa & Sekey Books. Condition: New. Paperback. Worldwide shipping. FREE fast shipping inside USA (express 2-3 day delivery also available). Tracking service included. Ships from United States of America. Seller Inventory # 1931907463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 33.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wei Zhang
Published by Homa & Sekey Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 1931907463 ISBN 13: 9781931907460
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Homa & Sekey Books, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111931907463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 53.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Zhang, Wei/ Russell, Terence (Translator)/ Ye, Shawn Xian (Translator)
Published by Homa & Sekey Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 1931907463 ISBN 13: 9781931907460
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Homa & Sekey Books, 2007. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 495 pages. 9.00x6.00x1.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 1931907463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.40
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Zhang, Wei
Published by Homa & Sekey Books
ISBN 10: 1931907463 ISBN 13: 9781931907460
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Homa & Sekey Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1931907463 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.1748463

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 65.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds