Susan Cokal Breath and Bones

ISBN 13: 9781932961157

Breath and Bones

3.57 avg rating
( 101 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781932961157: Breath and Bones

In 1884, Famke Summerfugl is ousted from her convent in Denmark for ... sensuousness and pulled from servitude by a second-rate painter named Albert Castle. Loving to be looked at, and able to stand perfectly still without shivering, Famke is the ideal artist’s model.

When Albert takes his eight-foot masterpiece and leaves his model behind, Famke sets out over the Atlantic, convinced that she is his muse.

Following Mirabilis, her highly acclaimed debut, Susann Cokal blends pre-Raphaelite painting, American brothels, Utahan polygamists, a bit of cross-dressing, a dynamite-wielding labor movement, one California millionaire, and the invention of electrical stimulation (as treatment for consumption) into a comic novel that gallops across the American west.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

As a slightly bawdy road novel in the tradition of Fanny Hill and Tom Jones and because of its narrating freshness and its twisted historic perspective, Susan Cokal’s second wholly unique comic novel should appeal to readers of Jeffrey Eugenide's Middlesex and Jonathan Saffran Foer’s Everything is Illuminated. The story begins in an orphanage in Denmark, where 15-year-old Famke learns about pleasure. Once she’s ousted from The Convent of the Immaculate Heart, she becomes an artist’s model and discovers how much she likes to be looked at. By the time Cokal has finished with her, Famke has learned a great deal more from her travels through the American West, and yet she remains charmingly naïve — almost to the novel’s breathtaking, and literally explosive ending.

About the Author:

Susann Cokal is the author of Mirabilis. She lives in Richmond, Virginia, where she teaches at Virginia Commonwealth University.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Cokal, Susann
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2006. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # V7-9781932961157

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Cokal, Susann
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2006. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781932961157

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Susann Cokal
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1932961151

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Cokal, Susan
Published by Unbridled Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 1932961151

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Susann Cokal
Published by N/A May 2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Paper Back Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Read It Again Books
(Suwanee, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description N/A May 2006, 2006. Paper Back. Book Condition: New. THIS IS A NEW ITEM! Delivery confirmation available for every item shipped. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. Bookseller Inventory # 20702

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Cokal, Susan
Published by Unbridled Books
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1932961151. Bookseller Inventory # Z1932961151ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Susann Cokal
Published by Unbridled Books, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books, United States, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Trade Paper Edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. In 1884, Famke Summerfugl is ousted from her convent in Denmark for .sensuousness and pulled from servitude by a second-rate painter named Albert Castle. Loving to be looked at, and able to stand perfectly still without shivering, Famke is the ideal artist s model. When Albert takes his eight-foot masterpiece and leaves his model behind, Famke sets out over the Atlantic, convinced that she is his muse. Following Mirabilis, her highly acclaimed debut, Susann Cokal blends pre-Raphaelite painting, American brothels, Utahan polygamists, a bit of cross-dressing, a dynamite-wielding labor movement, one California millionaire, and the invention of electrical stimulation (as treatment for consumption) into a comic novel that gallops across the American west. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781932961157

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Susann Cokal
Published by Unbridled Books, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books, United States, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Trade Paper Edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. In 1884, Famke Summerfugl is ousted from her convent in Denmark for .sensuousness and pulled from servitude by a second-rate painter named Albert Castle. Loving to be looked at, and able to stand perfectly still without shivering, Famke is the ideal artist s model. When Albert takes his eight-foot masterpiece and leaves his model behind, Famke sets out over the Atlantic, convinced that she is his muse. Following Mirabilis, her highly acclaimed debut, Susann Cokal blends pre-Raphaelite painting, American brothels, Utahan polygamists, a bit of cross-dressing, a dynamite-wielding labor movement, one California millionaire, and the invention of electrical stimulation (as treatment for consumption) into a comic novel that gallops across the American west. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781932961157

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Susann Cokal
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. In 1884, Famke Summerfugl is ousted from her convent in Denmark for . . . sensuousness and pulled from servitude by a second-rate painter named Albert Castle. Loving to be looked at, and a.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 407 pages. 0.535. Bookseller Inventory # 9781932961157

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Susan Cokal
Published by Unbridled Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 1932961151 ISBN 13: 9781932961157
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Unbridled Books, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1932961151

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book