The Ottoman Cage: Inspector Ikmen #2 (Inspectr Ikmen)

3.79 avg rating
( 578 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781933397849: The Ottoman Cage: Inspector Ikmen #2 (Inspectr Ikmen)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A beautiful young man has been found dead in one of Istanbul?s poshest neighborhoods. It?s sad, perhaps tragic, but it should also be a simple case: There are signs of drug abuse, rumors of prostitution, and a local family has reported a missing son. Unfortunately, this is Istanbul, where few things are as simple as they appear, and the past has a way of intruding on the present. To unravel the riddle, Inspector Ikmen will have to grapple not only with the residue of a century-old genocide, but also with an even older legacy that stretches back to the heyday of the Ottoman Empire.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

British Praise for "Belshazzar's Daughter":
"Intriguing, exotic whodunnit set in the scruffy Turkish township of Balat...Local colour judiciously applied and ethnic differences (White Russian refugees, uxorious Turks, fraught British expats) skilfully explored...A first novel: exciting, accomplished and original."
- "Literary Review"
"Best crime fiction by a new writer was Barbara Nadel's "Belshazzar's Daughter," Set in Istanbul, with a battered, cynical and credible Turkish cop, and a great blooming baroque plot (ditto talent)."
- "Books of the Year, Independent Weekend Review"
"An unusual and very well written first novel...Although the murder mystery is intriguing, it is the characters who make this book so successful. The police team and their little feuds, the English teacher besotted with his mysterious Turkish girlfriend, and, most memorably, the chain-smoking little Inspector Ikmen, with his eight children and pregnant wife, contribute to this portrayal of an exotically different city."
- "Sunday Telegraph"
"This is an extraordinarily interesting first novel: the idea which drives its plot is an intriguing one; the Istanbul background is richly and thickly layered; the diverse cast of characters exhibits most of the psychoses known to man; while Ç etin Ikmen is a detective one hopes to see more of."
- "Evening Standard"
"This Istanbul-set-thriller combines a multi-layered description of its locale with an equally complex plot...Nadel presents a fully fledged psychological understanding worthy of the best of the genre and her plotting is satisfyingly labyrinthine. Inspector lkmen too, is a highly unusual protagonist, characterized in away that owes little to her predecessors. An evocative and idiosyncratic debut novel."
- "Good Book Guide"
"In Inspector Ikmen, Nadel has created a sympathetic sleuth. Supported by his handsome side-kick, intellectual father and plaintive wife, Ikmen should go far."
- "Scotsman"

About the Author:

Who's Likely to Like This? Fans of Donna Leon and P.D. James This (after Belshazzar's Daughter/i) is the 2nd in the ;Inspector Ikmen; series. The most recent book in the series just won Britain's CWA Silver Dagger award for Best Crime Novel of the Year.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

List Price: US$ 14.95
US$ 39.99

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780312337698: The Ottoman Cage: A Novel of Istanbul

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0312337698 ISBN 13:  9780312337698
Publisher: Minotaur Books, 2005
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nadel, Barbara
Published by Felony & Mayhem
ISBN 10: 1933397845 ISBN 13: 9781933397849
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Felony & Mayhem. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1933397845 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW33.1114130

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Nadel, Barbara
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 1933397845 ISBN 13: 9781933397849
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB1933397845

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 51.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Nadel, Barbara
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 1933397845 ISBN 13: 9781933397849
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
pickabook
(San francisco, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # mon0000140372

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Nadel, Barbara
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 1933397845 ISBN 13: 9781933397849
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Tangled Web Mysteries and Oddities
(Kennebuunkport, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Providing superior service since 2002. Unconditional money back guarantee. Seller Inventory # 093208

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 49.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Barbara Nadel
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 1933397845 ISBN 13: 9781933397849
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1933397845

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 70.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Nadel, Barbara
Published by Felony & Mayhem 2007-12-15 (2007)
ISBN 10: 1933397845 ISBN 13: 9781933397849
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Felony & Mayhem 2007-12-15, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. 1933397845 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-1933397845

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Barbara Nadel
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 1933397845 ISBN 13: 9781933397849
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1933397845n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 204.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds