Sweet Danger (Felony & Mayhem Mysteries) (Albert Campion)

4.05 avg rating
( 2,132 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781933397900: Sweet Danger (Felony & Mayhem Mysteries) (Albert Campion)

After centuries as a Balkan backwater, the sleepy town of Averna has -- overnight -- become a stunningly valuable port, thanks to an earthquake that rejiggered the regional topography. But to whose coffers will that value accrue? Albert Campion, that interesting young man, has a hunch that the answer is to be found in a tiny Suffolk village, where a peculiar -- and dead-broke -- family may be able to lay claim to the Averna fortune, provided they can produce the requisite proof of lineage. The proof? Nothing terribly difficult. Just your average ancient riddle, stolen drum, long-lost bell, priceless crown, and, oh yes, a necklace of disappearing rubies.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Margery Allingham is one of the best-known names in mystery fiction The "Campion" novels have been extensively televised, and broadcast in the U.S. and UK; a new series in currently under option. Who's Likely to Like This? Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Edmund Crispin and other writers of Britain's "Golden Age"

From AudioFile:

With a hint of danger and international politics at stake, Albert Campion travels from the French Riviera to a small village in Essex, England, trying to solve a one-hundred-year-old riddle. With his British accent, narrator Francis Matthews finds exactly the right tone for Campion--very proper, sometimes alert and sharp, but usually (intentionally) vacuous and foolish. His three upper-crust companions are harder to differentiate at times. Matthews does well with the Cockney accents and Midlands dialects and with the supporting cast, especially the pugnacious Lugg. Additionally, he gives Amanda all the enthusiasm, intelligence, and lack of self-consciousness that charms Albert completely. In keeping with Allingham's prose, Matthews brings the reader unhurriedly along, slowly building towards the tense but satisfying end. W.L.S. © AudioFile 2001, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Margery Allingham
Published by Felony & Mayhem, New York, NY, U.S.A. (2007)
ISBN 10: 193339790X ISBN 13: 9781933397900
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
SUNSET BOOKS
(Newark, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, New York, NY, U.S.A., 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. No Jacket. 1st. Unread, Bagged for protection!!! Seller's image, know what you are getting! Pre-packing weight is 0 lb. 8.9 oz . ORIGINAL!! Has NO Dust Jacket. NO wear noted. NO Owner markings noted! See Picture! The Copyright date is 2007 for this 2007 printing. This volume was purchased at Public Auction. First published in U.K. 1933 as Sweet Danger, First U.S. Edition 1933 as Kingdom of Death, Then by Doubleday in 1933 as The Fear Sign. Thank you for your purchase from Sunset Books! Help Promote World Literacy, GIVE a Book as a GIFT!! In stock, Ships from Ohio. WE COMBINE SHIPPING ON MULTIPLE PURCHASES!!!! SEE PICTURES!!!!! ANY ODD/GREEN TONES ON THE SCANS ARE CAUSED BY MY SCANNER!! All of our Technical/Textbook/Ex-Library volumes were obtained legally through Public or Auction sales. Size: 8vo - over 7¾ - 9¾" tall. Book. Bookseller Inventory # 027846

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Margery Allingham
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 193339790X ISBN 13: 9781933397900
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M193339790X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Felony & Mayhem
ISBN 10: 193339790X ISBN 13: 9781933397900
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Felony & Mayhem. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 193339790X We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # XM-193339790X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 193339790X ISBN 13: 9781933397900
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
24/7 BOOKS
(Ypsilanti, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 100% buyer satisfaction guarantee. *Some of our items are sealed to protect them during shipping and to maintain their listed condition* International orders over 2lbs may be subject to shipping price adjustments. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000085434

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 193339790X ISBN 13: 9781933397900
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P11193339790X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 37.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Felony & Mayhem
ISBN 10: 193339790X ISBN 13: 9781933397900
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Felony & Mayhem. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 193339790X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0933868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Felony & Mayhem (2007)
ISBN 10: 193339790X ISBN 13: 9781933397900
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Media Neat
(Glenview, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Felony & Mayhem, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. newWe Ship Every Day! Free Tracking Number Included! International Buyers Are Welcome! Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # 9999914079N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 450.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds