Lea, Creston Wild Punch

ISBN 13: 9781933527406

Wild Punch

4 avg rating
( 32 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781933527406: Wild Punch
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"Mr. Lea can write one hell of a story . . . wonderful awful scary marvelous stories—I kept expecting to hit the wall, to be overwhelmed with depression at the intractable fates he chronicles, but somehow, magically, he kept me reading through and out the other side of grim right into stubborn awe. Get this book in print so I can give copies to everyone I know."—Dorothy Allison

"Lea is a new voice for the rural North Country in the tradition of Howard Frank Mosher, Russell Banks and Annie Proulx. His prose crackles with insight. He'll make you laugh and he'll make you cry, and if you're that North Country person he'll make you understand yourself a little better."—Ernest Hebert

"Attentive, sure-footed, possessed of an engaging voice and, best of all, a spirit of generosity, Creston Lea's Wild Punch is an exciting new find for any serious reader of short stories."—Rick Bass

These debut stories, set in northern New England, portray the revelatory moments of small-timers, clergymen, hotheads, day laborers, motorcycle racers, loggers, horse farmers, and young veterans of the Gulf War. In Wild Punch, Creston Lea achieves the rare congruence of language and landscape.

Creston Lea's writing is realistic and understated. His style can be compared to writers like Raymond Carver and Tobias Wolff. He is as much a master of local grit as he is of local color. Lea is an author who clearly loves his characters. He understands their contradictions and their stark daily realities, and he writes about them with an authority based on authenticity, generosity, grace, and sharply observed humanity.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Creston Lea was born in New Hampshire in 1971. His stories have appeared in DoubleTake, Open City, and W.W. Norton's 25 and Under: Fiction. He lives in Vermont with his wife and young daughter. There, he builds electric guitars under the name Creston Electric Instruments. Wild Punch is his first collection of stories.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Lea, Creston
ISBN 10: 1933527404 ISBN 13: 9781933527406
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781933527406

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Lea, Creston
Published by Brand: Turtle Point Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 1933527404 ISBN 13: 9781933527406
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Brand: Turtle Point Press, 2010. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 1933527404_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Creston Lea
Published by Turtle Point Press, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1933527404 ISBN 13: 9781933527406
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Turtle Point Press, United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Fiction. These debut stories, set in northern New England, portray the revelatory moments of small-timers, clergymen, hotheads, day laborers, motorcycle racers, loggers, horse farmers, and young veterans of the Gulf War. In WILD PUNCH, Creston Lea achieves the rare congruence of language and landscape. Creston Lea s writing is realistic and understated. His style can be compared to writers like Raymond Carver and Tobias Wolff. He is as much a master of local grit as he is of local color. Lea is an author who clearly loves his characters. He understands their contradictions and their stark daily realities, and he writes about them with an authority based on authenticity, generosity, grace, and sharply observed humanity. Seller Inventory # BZE9781933527406

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Creston Lea
Published by Turtle Point Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 1933527404 ISBN 13: 9781933527406
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Turtle Point Press, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1933527404

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Creston Lea
Published by Turtle Point Press, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1933527404 ISBN 13: 9781933527406
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Turtle Point Press, United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Fiction. These debut stories, set in northern New England, portray the revelatory moments of small-timers, clergymen, hotheads, day laborers, motorcycle racers, loggers, horse farmers, and young veterans of the Gulf War. In WILD PUNCH, Creston Lea achieves the rare congruence of language and landscape. Creston Lea's writing is realistic and understated. His style can be compared to writers like Raymond Carver and Tobias Wolff. He is as much a master of local grit as he is of local color. Lea is an author who clearly loves his characters. He understands their contradictions and their stark daily realities, and he writes about them with an authority based on authenticity, generosity, grace, and sharply observed humanity. Seller Inventory # BTE9781933527406

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Lea, Creston
Published by Turtle Point Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 1933527404 ISBN 13: 9781933527406
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Turtle Point Press, 2010. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1933527404

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds