Masters of Art: Ingres (Masters of French Art)

4.2 avg rating
( 10 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9783848005567: Masters of Art: Ingres (Masters of French Art)

Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres (1780–1867) was a French Neoclassical painter. Although he considered himself to be a painter of history in the tradition of Nicolas Poussin and Jacques-Louis David, by the end of his life, it was Ingres's portraits, both painted and drawn, that were recognized as his greatest legacy. A man profoundly respectful of the past, he assumed the role of a guardian of academic orthodoxy against the ascendant Romantic style represented by his nemesis Eugène Delacroix. In this volume, numerous large-sized illustrations showcase the artist’s oeuvre, and authoritative texts illustrate the decisive stages in the artist’s life and in the development of his work, explaining their significance in the context of his time and for the following generations of artists.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

The volumes in this series provide unique portraits of European art history. Authoritative texts illuminate the decisive stages in the artists' lives and the development of their styles, explaining their impact against the background of their social context as well as their significance for following generations of artist.

About the Author:

Art historian Uwe Fleckner gained his PHD on his studies about Ingres.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fleckner, Uwe
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 19664542-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Uwe Fleckner
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 3848005565

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Fleckner, Uwe
Published by H.F. Ullmann 11/15/2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description H.F. Ullmann 11/15/2013, 2013. Hardback or Cased Book. Book Condition: New. Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9783848005567

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Felckner, Uwe
Published by H.F.Ullmann Publishing Gmbh (2013)
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description H.F.Ullmann Publishing Gmbh, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 3848005565

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Fleckner, Uwe
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # V7-9783848005567

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Fleckner, Uwe
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9783848005567

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Felckner, Uwe
Published by H.F.Ullmann Publishing Gmbh
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description H.F.Ullmann Publishing Gmbh. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 3848005565. Bookseller Inventory # Z3848005565ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Uwe Fleckner
Published by Ullmann Publishing 28/10/2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hay-on-Wye Booksellers
(Hay-on-Wye, HEREF, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ullmann Publishing 28/10/2013, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 138262

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Uwe Felckner
Published by H.F.Ullmann Publishing Gmbh
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description H.F.Ullmann Publishing Gmbh. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. 140 pages. Dimensions: 10.2in. x 8.8in. x 0.6in.Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres (17801867) was a French Neoclassical painter. Although he considered himself to be a painter of history in the tradition of Nicolas Poussin and Jacques-Louis David, by the end of his life, it was Ingress portraits, both painted and drawn, that were recognized as his greatest legacy. A man profoundly respectful of the past, he assumed the role of a guardian of academic orthodoxy against the ascendant Romantic style represented by his nemesis Eugne Delacroix. In this volume, numerous large-sized illustrations showcase the artists oeuvre, and authoritative texts illustrate the decisive stages in the artists life and in the development of his work, explaining their significance in the context of his time and for the following generations of artists. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Hardcover. Bookseller Inventory # 9783848005567

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Uwe Fleckner
Published by Ullmann Publishing, Germany (2013)
ISBN 10: 3848005565 ISBN 13: 9783848005567
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository EURO
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ullmann Publishing, Germany, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres (1780-1867) was a French Neoclassical painter. Although he considered himself to be a painter of history in the tradition of Nicolas Poussin and Jacques-Louis David, by the end of his life it was Ingres portraits, both painted and drawn, that were recognized as his greatest legacy. A man profoundly respectful of the past, he assumed the role of a guardian of academic orthodoxy against the ascendant Romantic style represented by his nemesis Eugene Delacroix. In this volume, numerous large-sized illustrations showcase the artist s oeuvre; authoritative texts illustrate the decisive stages in the artist s life and in the development of his work, explaining their significance in the context of his time and for the following generations of artists. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9783848005567

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.96
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book