Sleeping by the Mississippi

ISBN 13: 9783865217530

Sleeping by the Mississippi

4.57 avg rating
( 119 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9783865217530: Sleeping by the Mississippi
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

It's hard to believe that the first edition of Alec Soth's Sleeping by the Mississippi appeared only in 2004, so swiftly has the book become a classic of our time. Evolving from a series of road trips along the Mississippi River, Sleeping by the Mississippi captures America's iconic yet oft-neglected "third coast." Soth's richly descriptive, large format color photographs describe an eclectic mix of individuals, landscapes and interiors. Sensuous in detail and raw in subject, his book elicits a consistent mood of loneliness, longing and reverie. "In the book's 46 ruthlessly edited pictures," writes Anne Wilkes Tucker, "Soth alludes to illness, procreation, race, crime, learning, art, music, death, religion, redemption, politics, and cheap sex... The coherence of the project places Soth's book exactly within the tradition of Walker Evans' American Photographs and Robert Frank's The Americans." Like Frank's classic book, Sleeping by the Mississippi merges a documentary style with a poetic sensibility. The Mississippi River is less the subject of the book than its organizing structure. Not bound by a rigid concept or ideology, the series is created from a quintessentially American spirit of wanderlust. Featuring a new linen-bound cover with a tipped-on image, this is the third print run of a volume which has become one of the most widely collected and highly acclaimed photo books of recent times.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alec Soth was born in Minneapolis, Minnesota in 1969, where he still lives, works and teaches at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design. He has received fellowships from the McKnight and Jerome Foundations and was the recipient of the 2003 Santa Fe Prize for Photography. His photographs are in major public and private collections, including the Los Angeles County Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts Houston, and the Walker Art Center.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Published by Steidl (2008)
ISBN 10: 3865217532 ISBN 13: 9783865217530
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Steidl, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P113865217532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 659.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Published by Steidl
ISBN 10: 3865217532 ISBN 13: 9783865217530
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Steidl. Hardcover. Condition: New. 3865217532 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.1774290

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 1,000.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Published by Steidl (2008)
ISBN 10: 3865217532 ISBN 13: 9783865217530
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Steidl, 2008. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M3865217532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 1,164.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds