Pavel Brycz I, City

ISBN 13: 9788086264271

I, City

3.67 avg rating
( 58 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9788086264271: I, City
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Fiction. Translated from the Czech by Joshua Cohen and Marketa Hofmeisterova. Winner of the Orten Prize and the State Prize for Literature in 2004. I, CITY is a story about the north Bohemian city of Most, an ancient city founded on a primeval wetland that was literally "relocated" to get to the brown coal beneath it. For Pavel Brycz, the youngest ever recipient of the Czech State Prize for Literature, Most is its varied inhabitants, and he as the city tell its own story through these inhabitants, who make their "appearances" in fleeting, ghost-like vignettes. As they emerge from the pollution, or from the swamp of the town's founding, we find not individuals but representatives. Theirs are historical lives that mistrust history, or that live it at least with typical irony. As Brycz makes fictional people say factual things and factual people (Kafka, the pope, Gustav Husak) say fictional things, post-modernity via magical realism makes its almost requisite--though noiseless--appearance in the best easterly European tradition of Danilo Kis or Isaac Babel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Pavel Brycz was born in 1968. A graduate of Prague’s Theatre Academy, he worked as a copywriter where he produced the Czech slogan for KFC (roughly translated as "damned good chicken"). He is the author of six books. I, City was awarded the Orten Prize and in 2004 Brycz became the youngest recipient of the State Prize for Literature. In English his work has appeared in the anthology Daylight in Nightclub Inferno (Catbird 1997).

Joshua Cohen was born in 1980 in New Jersey. His short fiction has appeared in many journals and anthologies, such as Glimmer Train and The New Book of Masks. He won First Prize in The Modern Word’s 2003 Short Story Contest and was short-listed for the Koret Foundation’s prestigious 2005 Young Writer on Jewish Themes Award. Cohen currently works as an editor in New York. His first book was The Quorum (Twisted Spoon 2005).

From Publishers Weekly:

Brycz pays tribute to his native Bohemian city of Most in this dreamy, disjointed series of vignettes, first published in 1998. The narrator is actually the city itself (located in the northwestern Czech Republic) and documents the follies of its youth, the vagaries of government and church, and the ravages of Soviet occupation. "I am not a hero," the city declares. "But when people on my streets and in my houses are truly human, I feel heroic." Most is portrayed here as a working-class city made up of migratory Germans, Czechs, Gypsies, Jews and poets speaking an "industrial conglomerate." Sometimes the city narrator waxes nostalgic, as when remembering lost sons of the city such as the Moravian singer and violinist Hanicka Haná, who settled in Most after World War II. Variously, the city marvels at the visiting Berolina Circus's polar bear act, witnesses sad partings between lovers and records good deeds (a taxi driver returns a teenage runaway to her parents' home). The voice of Brycz's battered city rings epic and authentic, while the translators' note offers an extensive history of Most. (Nov. 30)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Brycz, Pavel
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 8086264270. Seller Inventory # Z8086264270ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Pavel Brycz
Published by Twisted Spoon Press
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Press. Paperback. Condition: New. 153 pages. Dimensions: 8.0in. x 5.6in. x 0.5in.I, City is a novel about the north Bohemian city of Most, an ancient city founded on a primeval wetland literally relocated because it stood on a coal field. The city is the narrator of this unusual story telling its own story through its inhabitants, who make their appearances in fleeting, ghost-like vignettes, and Joycean epiphanies. The I is a whole consciousness enough removed from the town that it sees and knows everything, past and present. As Mosts people emerge from the pollution and swamp of the towns founding, their historical that mistrust history, with typical Czech irony. Here, in the city, fictional people say factual things and factual people (Kafka, the Pope, the last president of Communist Czechoslovakia Gustav Husak) say fictional things; this is post-modernity via Marquez and Magical Realism. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9788086264271

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Pavel Brycz
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. summoning figures from its history. I, City is many things: a novel-in-stories, a series of prose sketches in the tradition of Danilo Kis or Isaac Babel.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 153 pages. 0.249. Seller Inventory # 9788086264271

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Brycz, Pavel/ Cohen, Joshua (Translator)/ Hofmeisterova, Marketa (Translator)
Published by Twisted Spoon Pr (2006)
ISBN 10: 8086264270 ISBN 13: 9788086264271
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twisted Spoon Pr, 2006. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. translation edition. 153 pages. 8.25x5.50x0.50 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __8086264270

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.53
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book