Who Cloned My Cat?: Fun Adventures in Biotechnology

4.25 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9789814267656: Who Cloned My Cat?: Fun Adventures in Biotechnology
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"Science is fun!" Is the motto of this fun-filled book by Prof Reinhard Renneberg. Do you know that in Japan, washing machines have no "cooking program" thanks to enzyme detergents? How to make German-style beer from rice? How do you make real snow with dead frost-bacteria? Is using bio-ethanol as a car fuel going against our environment? How can you clone your neighbor's beautiful cat? How to eliminate breast cancer genes before a baby girl is born? Can the financial crisis be solved by breeding better stock market traders? How to measure the fitness of students? The questions are endless.

Cartoonists Manfred Bofinger (Germany) and Ming Fai Chow (Hong Kong) here together with Prof Renneberg, created a fireworks of stories with funny cartoons, which are easily digestable for the layman reader but at the same time will interest even the specialists. Through this collection of inspirational short stories, you will get a complete picture of the latest advances in modern biotechnology with no technical jargons, no equations and no animals harmed!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Reinhard Renneberg has been professor of analytic biotechnology at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (www.ust.hk) since 1955. He is the author of the extremely successful and much-lauded volume "Biotechnology for Beginners", over 5,300 copies of which have been sold in 18 months. He has also written three other books on biotechnology, including the present volume. He is a co-author of the Roempp Biotechnology Dictionary, has written four monographs and 250 publications and holds 20 patents. In addition, he is involved in two biotechnology companies in Germany and China.

Review:

"Renneberg's newest book, Who Cloned My Cat?, is a personal journey through the science and politics of biotechnology. Following in the tradition of Lewis Thomas and Stephen J. Gould, Renneberg has created a book perfectly suited for recreational reading, full of scientific wonder and social context."
―Prof. David Goodsell, The Scripps Research Institute, USA

"What a scientific book - interesting and informative! Using many funny illustrations and simple words, biotechnology is no longer a bugaboo for common people. This is the book that experts as well as beginners want to keep at their side."
―Prof. Michihiko Kobayashi, University of Tsukuba, Japan

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 31.95
US$ 25.14

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 7.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Renneberg Reinhard
Published by Pan Stanford Publishing
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Quantity Available: 4
Print on Demand
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Stanford Publishing. Condition: New. pp. 178 This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 6432001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 25.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Renneberg R.
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
firstbookstore
(New Delhi, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: Brand New. Brand New Original US Edition, Perfect Condition. Printed in English. Excellent Quality, Service and customer satisfaction guaranteed!. Seller Inventory # AIND-129089

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 33.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Renneberg R.
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Romtrade Corp.
(STERLING HEIGHTS, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New Original US Edition.We Ship to PO BOX Address also. EXPEDITED shipping option also available for faster delivery.This item may ship fro the US or other locations in India depending on your location and availability. Seller Inventory # AUSBNEW-129089

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Renneberg Reinhard
Published by Pan Stanford Publishing (2010)
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Stanford Publishing, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX9814267651

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 36.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Renneberg Reinhard
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
University Bookstore
(DELHI, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. This is Brand NEW. Seller Inventory # SR eCOMM-18072018-34535

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.49
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Renneberg R.
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
University Bookstore
(DELHI, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. This is Brand NEW. Seller Inventory # CBS 09072018-15189

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.49
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Renneberg Reinhard
Published by Pan Stanford (2010)
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Stanford, 2010. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M9814267651

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

REINHARD RENNEBERG
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
University Bookstore
(DELHI, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. This is Brand NEW. Seller Inventory # Star-09062018-3650

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.49
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Reinhard, Renneberg
Published by Pan Stanford (2010)
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Stanford, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P119814267651

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 63.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Renneberg R.
Published by Pan Stanford Publishing (2011)
ISBN 10: 9814267651 ISBN 13: 9789814267656
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
BookVistas
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Stanford Publishing, 2011. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # CBS-9789814267656

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 56.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.62
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book