The Envelope: Walking Up to Everest Base Camp

3.82 avg rating
( 11 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9789937506274: The Envelope: Walking Up to Everest Base Camp

Many disenchanted Westerners have gone to the Himalayas in search of renewal, but no one has written about the experience as perceptively and personally as Andrew Stevenson in Annapurna Circuit. A traveller all his life, Stevenson responds to people and places with an openness unique to the cultural nomad - his portraits of the men, women and children of the Annapurnas, and the fellow-backpackers form all over the world who intermittently shared his journey, are a delight; his descriptions of the landscape, and the physical hardships of the trek are enthralling. But like every travel book of real quality, this is also the result of a spiritual journey. A richly rewarding read on every level, The Envelope is a modern travel classic in the tradition of Peter Matthiesson's Snow Leopard and Andrew Harvey's Journey to Ladakh.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Although his family have been in Bermuda for over thirty years, Andrew was born in Canada, and then spent his childhood in Hong Kong, India, Kenya, Scotland, Malaysia and Singapore. He studied postgraduate international economics in France, Canada and Norway and worked as an international economist for two Canadian banks before joining the United Nations Development Programme. He was assigned to the UNDP offices in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, remained in the country after a two year stint with the UN, obtained his pilot's licence and started a safari company in the Selous Game Reserve. After five years in East Africa he returned to North America to become a financial advisor, and to upgrade his pilot's licence. He has subsequently worked as a consultant in international development for the Canadian, Norwegian and Swedish governments, travelling over most of Africa and Asia. He was owner of two adventure companies in Norway. He currently lives in Bermuda with his Kiwi wife Annabel and daughters Elsa and Somers where he writes and researches whales full time. He is well known in Bermuda for his Family Man articles in the RG Magazine.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Andrew Stevenson
Published by Non Basic Stock Line (2009)
ISBN 10: 9937506271 ISBN 13: 9789937506274
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Non Basic Stock Line, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX9937506271

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Andrew Stevenson
Published by Vajra Publications (2009)
ISBN 10: 9937506271 ISBN 13: 9789937506274
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vajra Publications, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M9937506271

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stevenson, Andrew
Published by Vajra Publications (2009)
ISBN 10: 9937506271 ISBN 13: 9789937506274
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vajra Publications, 2009. Book Condition: new. Shiny and new! Expect delivery in 20 days. Bookseller Inventory # 9789937506274-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Andrew Stevenson
Published by Vajra Publications
ISBN 10: 9937506271 ISBN 13: 9789937506274
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vajra Publications. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk9937506271

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Andrew Stevenson
Published by Vajra Publications (2009)
ISBN 10: 9937506271 ISBN 13: 9789937506274
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vajra Publications, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P119937506271

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 44.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds