After Photography (Hardcover)

Fred Ritchin

ISBN 10: 0393050246 / ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Hardcover. After Photography examines the myriad ways in which the digital revolution has fundamentally altered the way we receive visual information, from photos of news events taken by ordinary peo.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 199 pages. 0.780. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.9 avg rating
(175 ratings)

Synopsis:

A fascinating look at the perils and possibilities of photography in a digital age.

After Photography examines the myriad ways in which the digital revolution has fundamentally altered the way we receive visual information, from photos of news events taken by ordinary people on cell phones to the widespread use of image surveillance. In a world beset by critical problems and ambiguous boundaries, Fred Ritchin argues that it is time to begin energetically exploring the possibilities created by digital innovations and to use them to better understand our rapidly changing world.

Ritchin―one of our most influential commentators on photography―investigates the future of visual media as the digital revolution transforms images into a hypertextual medium, fundamentally changing the way we conceptualize the world. Simultaneously, the increased manipulation of photographs makes photography suspect as reliable documentation, raising questions about its role in recounting personal and public histories. In the tradition of John Berger and Susan Sontag, Ritchin analyzes photography's failings and reveals untapped potentials for the medium.

50 color illustrations

About the Author: Fred Ritchin is the director of PixelPress and a professor of photography and imaging at New York University. He was named one of the 100 most important people in photography by American Photo magazine. He lives in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: After Photography (Hardcover)
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New
Edition: 1st.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ritchin, Fred
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(AURORA, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. The dust jacket is missing. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0393050246I3N01

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Ritchin, Fred
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(AURORA, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0393050246I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Ritchin, Fred
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
glenthebookseller
(Montgomery, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. Condition: Good. 0393050246 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc. Seller Inventory # Z0393050246Z3

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Ritchin, Fred
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Idaho Youth Ranch Books
(Boise, ID, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact (including dust cover, if applicable). The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include "From the library of" labels or limited small stickers. Book may have a remainder mark or be a price cutter. Seller Inventory # B-05-04-09-0380

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Ritchin, Fred
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hawking Books
(Lake Arrowhead, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. Condition: Good. 0393050246 Good Condition. Five star seller - Buy with confidence!. Seller Inventory # Z0393050246Z3

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Fred Ritchin
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2008. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0393050246-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 11.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Ritchin, Fred
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Ruby
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_235974136

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Ritchin, Fred
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WeBuyBooks
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Very Good: a copy that has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Seller Inventory # mon0010398175

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 12.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.78
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Fred Ritchin
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0393050246

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Fred Ritchin
Published by W. W. Norton & Company December 2008 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393050246 ISBN 13: 9780393050240
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Firefly Bookstore
(Kutztown, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company December 2008, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: Used Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Good. Firefly sells new and used books through our store front. We try to add a detailed description to as many titles as possible. If you have questions regarding this title, please contact us. Photos available on request. Seller Inventory # 146171

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 39 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book