I, Afterlife : Essay In Mourning Time

Prevallet, Kristin

Published by Essay Press
ISBN 10: 0979118913 / ISBN 13: 9780979118913
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Includes everything it's supposed to include. Light to moderate shelf wear. No apparent underlining/highlighting. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
4.29 avg rating
(123 ratings)

Synopsis: Poetry. Essays. Much admired by her contemporaries for her experiments in poetic form, Kristin Prevallet now turns those gifts to the most vulnerable moments of her own life, and in doing so, has produced a testament that is both disconsolate and powerful. Meditating on her father's unexplained suicide, Prevallet alternates between the clinical language of the crime report and the lyricism of the elegy. Throughout, she offers a defiant refusal of east consolations or redemptions. Driven by "the need to extend beyond the personal and out the toward the intolerable present," Prevallet brings herself and her readers to the chilling but transcendent place where, as she promises, "darkness has its own resolutions." According to Fanny Howe, here elegy and essay "converge and there is left a beautiful sense of the poetic itself as all that is left to comfort a person facing a catastrophic loss." "This is the quietest and most intimate book by one of our best poets"--Forest Gander.

About the Author: Kristin Prevallet (born in 1966 in Denver) is an American poet and essayist who currently lives and works in New York City. Prevallet studied with Robert Creeley at SUNY Buffalo and has described herself as working in the tradition of William Carlos Williams, Charles Olson and the ongoing stream of American high modernists. In recent years, she has appeared regularly at the Bowery Poetry Club, the venue which defined the New York downtown poetry scene in the late 90s and early 00s. In her academic life, she has taught at Bard College, The New School for Social Research, and currently at St. John's University in Queens. She has also lectured and performed frequently at the Jack Kerouac School at Naropa University (formerly The Naropa Institute) in Boulder, Colorado.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: I, Afterlife : Essay In Mourning Time
Publisher: Essay Press
Book Condition: Very Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BooksforGoodwillGetJobs
(Brooklyn Park, MN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. Cover has some rubbing and edge wear. All items ship Mon-Fri. Bookseller Inventory # 2Y68H1003JR1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Prevallet, Kristin
Published by Essay Press
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Essay Press. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0979118913I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kristin Prevallet
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # 97809791189134.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 19.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kristin Prevallet
Published by Essay Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Essay Press, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1st. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0979118913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Prevallet, Kristin
Published by Essay Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Essay Press, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 979118913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Prevallet, Kristin
Published by Essay Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Essay Press, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0979118913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kristin Prevallet
Published by Essay Pr (2007)
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Essay Pr, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. first edition. 63 pages. 8.00x5.50x0.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 0979118913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Prevallet, Kristin
Published by Essay Press
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Essay Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Fine. 0979118913 Like New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # LN6.0663597

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 29.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Prevallet, Kristin
Published by Essay Press (2007)
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Essay Press, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # P020979118913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 32.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Kristin Prevallet
ISBN 10: 0979118913 ISBN 13: 9780979118913
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 6798837

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.09
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 5 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book