Stock Image

An American Haunting

Johnson, Scott A.

24 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1891799118 / ISBN 13: 9781891799112
Published by Harbor House (GA), 2004
Condition: Very Good Hardcover
From Archives Books, Inc. (Edmond, OK, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since November 14, 1997

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

Signed. 1st edition, 1st printing. 2004. Signed and inscribed by Author on flyleaf. Jacket not included. Nice clean copy. Family owned since 1989. Selling online since 1995. Exceptional shopping experience, 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000513000

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: An American Haunting

Publisher: Harbor House (GA)

Publication Date: 2004

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Very Good

Dust Jacket Condition: Dust Jacket Included

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

An American Haunting, Scott A. Johnson’s delightfully frightening debut novel, rips away the boundaries between real-life and fiction in its truth-based, spine-tingling exploration of evil.

Making one last attempt to build a financially stable life for his family, Gabriel Rosewood borrows money from his parents to buy a quaint, fixer-upper in the historic district of San Marcos — never imagining the beautiful old building harbors a deadly evil.

At once touching and terrifying, the tale of the house and its occupants remains profoundly moving as an examination of one family’s struggle to connect while bursting the seams of the horror genre with its authentic characterization, surreal descriptions and complex plot progression.

The first few pages trigger an explosion of terror that continues to exude energy for the length of the book, delving into the supernatural forces that have ruled the house since its construction and the town’s dogged determination to hide the truth.

The plot centers on the self-doubting Gabriel and his dangerous attempt to protect his loved ones and prove his worth as a father and husband. These motivations lead Gabe away from his skepticism and into the thick of evil.

The endearing characters range from Lizzy, Gabriel’s lonely and left-out ten-year-old daughter, to Trish, his warm, loving wife, and include such oddballs as the cranky and reluctant guardian of the San Marcos Historical Society, a professor studying paranormal psychology, and a gifted self-sacrificing medium.

In the tradition of Stephen King’s The Shining, An American Haunting is a nail-biting and insightful Texas horror story sure to leave horror fans deeply affected by its curious message of fear and hope.

About the Author:

Scott A. Johnson was born and raised in the swampland coastal town of Lake Jackson, Texas, which is rife with folklore and ghost stories that greatly influenced him as a child. While most children were content to watch cartoons on Saturday mornings, Scott watched Chiller Theater with his brother, reveling in the performances of Vincent Price, Bela Lugosi and Borris Karloff.

In junior high school, he discovered a deep love for the written word when he was introduced to Edgar Allan Poe's The Cask of Amontillado. He excelled in his English classes all through high school, though he did not begin writing fiction until he reached college.

Scott attended Texas State University-San Marcos — then Southwest Texas State University — and received his Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communication-Advertising. He decided he loved the school and took a full-time position, working as a Media Technician for the Department of English. It was at this time that he was exposed to many great authors, both faculty and visiting.

Scott’s short stories have been published in several magazines, including The Corpse Magazine, Alien Skin Magazine and All Hallows. He also writes a column, "Cold Spots," for the Horror Channel Web site.

Scott lives in San Marcos with his wife, Tabatha, and his two daughters, Anna and Zoe. He continues to work in the Department of English at Texas State University-San Marcos.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Archives Books, Inc. is a family owned and operated company, established in 1989 in Edmond, OK, which has been selling books locally and online for more than 20 years. Our first online sale was in 1995, being one of the first book dealers to sell used books online. Being on the ground floor of the online used book business, we have acquired a rare knowledge of the industry that helps us provide an unmatched customer service experience. In addition to our online listings, we have a brick and mortar store located in Edmond, Oklahoma at 1914 E. 2nd Street. We buy and sell at this location Monday thru Saturday, 10am-6pm. We currently add thousands of titles to our online inventory each month and sell hundreds of books each day, so inventory is always changing and the selection is always different. What began in 1989 has turned out to be one of Oklahoma's finest used bookstores and continues to be an excellent provider of used books worldwide.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Customer Satisfaction guaranteed! All orders ship within 24-48 hours. Your total satisfaction is our goal. If you are unhappy with your purchase for any reason, simply email us with a brief explanation of your problem and we will get back with you within 24 hours, Monday thru Friday with a resolution. We are closed on the weekends, therefore, if contacting on Sat. or Sun., please allow 48 hours for response. We can be contacted at archivesbooks@sbcglobal.net.

Archives Books inc.
1914 E. 2nd Stre...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 24-48 hours of order date. Priority shipping costs $6.75 and normally takes 3 to 7 business days to arrive. Standard Mail costs $3.99 and takes 4 to 14 business days but in some rare cases may take 21 business days or longer to arrive. International shipping vary according to weight and take 4 to 20 business days but in some rare cases can take up to 25 business days. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express