Americas Back Porch

Jeffreys, Daniel

Published by Quartet Books, 1998
ISBN 10: 0704380307 / ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

This is a used book. Potential defects may exist (folds, creases, highlighting, writing/markings, staining, stickers and/or sticker residue, ETC.) COAS Books, A Bookstore for Everyone. Ships Within 24 Hours - Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.06 avg rating
(18 ratings)

Synopsis: An outside observer exposes our culture's underbelly with a caustic and often hilarious eye.

On America's back porch the most diverse and exotic cultures flourish in wild abandon; but it often takes the scrutiny of an outside observer, with an eye for the bizarre, to bring into relief the hilarious, often unsettling, bounty of strange experiences hiding within the mundane. In America's Back Porch, Daniel Jeffreys takes us on a startling voyage of discovery that brings us face-to-face with an America as it might have been recorded by the camera of Robert Frank. There are teenage vampires in Kentucky, Jesus-worshiping rattlesnake handlers in the Appalachians, a vigilante society in Texas, Alabama chain-gang guards who wrestle bears, cosmetic surgeons giving face-lifts to Hollywood dogs, and bounty killers in Florida. In the tradition of Bill Bryson and P. J. O'Rourke, Jeffreys takes us on a rarely seen tour of the underbelly of our culture, recorded with a sure sense for the telling detail, the colorful, and the grotesque.

About the Author: Daniel Jeffreys is a correspondent at large for the New York Post and the Daily Mail (London). He is co-producing three feature films based on his stories and lives in New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Americas Back Porch
Publisher: Quartet Books
Publication Date: 1998
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Acceptable

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jeffreys, Daniel
Published by Quartet Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0704380307 ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quartet Books, 1998. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Ex-library. EXPRESS DELIVERY AVAILABLE AT CHECKOUT. Shipped From the UK. Seller Inventory # mon0000481405

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Daniel Jeffreys
Published by Quartet Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0704380307 ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
FORTIUS LTD
(Aylesbury, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quartet Books, 1998. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. We are committed to providing each customer with the highest standard of customer service. All books are picked, packed and dispatched from the United Kingdom. Seller Inventory # FH725243

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.81
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jeffreys, Daniel
Published by Quartet Books 1998-07-01 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0704380307 ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookdonors CIC
(GALASHIELS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quartet Books 1998-07-01, 1998. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. All books are pre-owned and will have been read by someone else before you. They may well show signs of minor wear and tear. Please note, cover images are illustrative only, and the actual book cover and edition can vary. Seller Inventory # 9780704380301-21

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Daniel Jeffreys
Published by Quartet Books, Limited
ISBN 10: 0704380307 ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Blue Cloud
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quartet Books, Limited. Paperback. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0704380307I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jeffreys, Daniel
Published by Quartet Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0704380307 ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Emerald
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quartet Books, 1996. Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_204686866

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Daniel JEFFREYS
Published by Quartet Books, London (1998)
ISBN 10: 0704380307 ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discovery Bookshop
(AMMANFORD, CARMS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quartet Books, London, 1998. Paperback. Condition: Good. "Daniel Jeffreys has journeyed to the twisted heart of America & conducted his own referendum on the state of the American spirit - America's Back Porch is the result". etc. PAPERBACK, 286 pages, clean & in good condition, spine lightly creased & minor shelf wear, packed securely, prompt dispatch. Seller Inventory # 031474

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Daniel Jeffreys
Published by INTERLINK BOOKS, United Kingdom
ISBN 10: 0704380307 ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description INTERLINK BOOKS, United Kingdom. Trade Paperback. Condition: Good. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. History and Social Science>American Studies>General. Book: USED, Good. Bookseller Inventory # 17978070438030100. Seller Inventory # 17978070438030100

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Daniel Jeffreys
Published by Quartet Bks. (1996)
ISBN 10: 0704380307 ISBN 13: 9780704380301
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Quartet Bks., 1996. Paperback. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0704380307

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds