Image Not Available

There Ain't No Such Animal And Other East Texas Tales

Bill Brett

ISBN 10: 0890960682 / ISBN 13: 9780890960684
Published by Texas A&M University Press, College Station, TX, 1979
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From booksforcomfort (Comfort, TX, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since October 7, 2015

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 30.90 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

There Ain't No Such Animal And Other East Texas Tales by Bill Brett. Published by Texas A&M University Press, College Station, TX, 1979. 1st Edition 3rd Printing. Hardbound, Paper DJ. Size 8vo. Condition: Fine in Chipped DJ. Orig owners initials in ink inside front cover. 111 Pgs. ISBN 0890960682. LCCN 78-21777. Illustrations by Harvey L. Johnson. East Text folk tales. Description text copyright 2001 BooksForComfort. Item ID 4793. Bookseller Inventory # 4793

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: There Ain't No Such Animal And Other East ...

Publisher: Texas A&M University Press, College Station, TX

Publication Date: 1979

Binding: Hardback

Illustrator: Harvey L. Johnson

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Good

Edition: 1st edition.

Book Type: book

About this title

Synopsis:

The stories in this book are the kind you might hear sitting on the porch past dark listening to distant hounds after a fox in the southeast Texas bottoms, tales with some truth and some lies and much pleasure take in the telling and the listening, tales with a strong sense of place and people, rooted firmly in the oral tradition.

Sure enough, there ain’t no such animal” as a completely honest man, as the title story shows. Other stories tell of justice as swift and sure as a mule’s kick, of epic brawls and the trials of courtship, of poachers, politicians, and preachers, of hogs and dogs and horse traders, of good neighboring and bad blood, of life and death and youth and age in southeast Texas as it was early in the twentieth century.

In the tradition of Frank Dobie and Fred Gipson, Bill Brett writes with the natural humor and wisdom of the folk themselves. His stories will delight anyone with an interest in folk life or with the inclination to stop and set a spell” and listen to a good yarn.

About the Author:

BILL BRETT has been postmaster of Hull, Texas, oil-well roughneck, cowhand, farmer, rancher, deputy sheriff, truck driver, and anything else that would help raise a family.” His book The Stolen Steers received the Cowboy Hall of Fame’s Western Heritage Award for folklore.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We specialize in self help, crafts, scientific, history, in short any book that will enrich your life and will be useful in your endeavors.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Personal checks, MO's or credit cards or PayPal with order.


Shipping Terms:

Media Mail less than 1 pound or one book $4.95, extra books $1.75 ea. We can ship anyway desired write for a quote.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal Invoice Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer Direct Debit (Personally Authorized Payment)