Stock Image

Anna and the Swallow Man

Savit, Gavriel

3,704 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0553513346 / ISBN 13: 9780553513349
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers, U.S.A., 2016
Condition: As New Hardcover
From MacFinn's Books (Shenandoah, IA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since March 16, 2012

Quantity Available: 6

Buy Used
Price: US$ 55.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

1st edition/1st printing in as new, unread condition. Signed by the author on the title page. The author has also written what looks like code in the upper right hand of the title page. No condition problems. Mylar protected. Bookseller Inventory # 000395

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Anna and the Swallow Man

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2016

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

A New York Times Bestseller
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award                             
Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award
"Exquisite." ?The Wall Street Journal

"This is masterly storytelling." ?The New York Times Book Review

A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief.

 
Krakˇw, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna ?ania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She?s alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna?s father?she knows that very well?but she also knows that, like her father, he?s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. 
 
Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit?s stunning debut reveals life?s hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.

About the Author:

Gavriel Savit holds a BFA in musical theater from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, where he grew up. As an actor and singer, Gavriel has performed on three continents, from New York to Brussels to Tokyo. He lives in Brooklyn. This is his first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described
on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your
purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if
the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you┐ve
changed your mind about a book that you┐ve ordered, please
use the [Ask bookseller a question] link to contact us and
we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Bank Draft