Stock Image

Arctic Summer

Galgut, Damon

729 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0771036728 / ISBN 13: 9780771036729
Published by McClelland & Stewart, 2014
Used Condition: Good
Buy Used
Price: US$ 3.48 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Better World Books
Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since August 3, 2006

About this Item

Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP82408779

Quantity Available: 3

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Arctic Summer

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart

Publication Date: 2014

Book Condition: Good

About this title

Synopsis:

This masterpiece novel -- by the internationally acclaimed, young South African writer Damon Galgut--about E.M. Forster, his life, struggles with homosexuality, and the writing of his universally loved novel A Passage to India will call to mind the international success of Colm Toibin's The Master. For readers of Colm Toibin, Ian McEwan, and J.M. Coetzee.
     In 1912, the SS Birmingham approaches India. On board is Morgan Forster, novelist and man of letters, who is embarking on a journey of discovery. As Morgan stands on deck, the promise of a strange new future begins to take shape before his eyes. The seeds of a story start to gather at the corner of his mind: a sense of impending menace, lust in close confines, under a hot, empty sky. It will be another twelve years, and a second, and much longer time spent in India, before A Passage to India, E.M. Forster's most beloved work of literature, is completed. During these years, Morgan will come to a recognition of his homosexuality and of the infinite subtleties and complexities of human nature. Arctic Summer is an intimate portrait of the man who became one of Britain's finest novelists, his struggle to find a way of living and being, and a stunningly vivid evocation of the mysterious alchemy of the creative process. Galgut animates the literary times in which Forster lived with encounters with some of the writers of the day, including Virginia and Leonard Woolf and D.H. Lawrence. Galgut also brilliantly and poignantly describes Forster's two closest relationships, enduring and sadly unfulfilled. Arctic Summer is a literary masterpiece, by one of the finest writers of his generation.

About the Author:

DAMON GALGUT is an award-winning novelist and short story writer. His most recent novels include In a Strange Room, The Impostor, a regional finalist for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book, and The Good Doctor, winner of a regional Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book and a finalist for the Man Booker Prize and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. Galgut lives in Cape Town, South Africa.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

100% refunds guaranteed, no questions asked.


Shipping Terms:

We ship daily!

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express