Astoria

Stark, Peter

Published by Ecco, 2014
ISBN 10: 0062218298 / ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used / Hard Cover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

First Edition/First Printing. Very Fine condition. Brodart protected, ships in a box. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.99 avg rating
(5,157 ratings)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast—one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn—nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

From the Back Cover:

In 1810, John Jacob Astor sent out two advance parties to settle the wild, unclaimed western coast of North America. More than half of his men died violent deaths. The others survived starvation, madness, and greed to shape the destiny of a continent.

At a time when the edge of American settlement barely reached beyond the Appalachian Mountains, two visionaries, President Thomas Jefferson and millionaire John Jacob Astor, foresaw that one day the Pacific would dominate world trade as much as the Atlantic did in their day. Just two years after the Lewis and Clark expedition concluded in 1806, Jefferson and Astor turned their sights westward once again. Thus began one of history's dramatic but largely forgotten turning points in the conquest of the North American continent.

Astoria is the harrowing tale of the quest to settle a Jamestown-like colony on the Pacific coast. Astor set out to establish a global trade network based at the mouth of the Columbia River in what is now Oregon, while Jefferson envisioned a separate democracy on the western coast that would spread eastward to meet the young United States.

Astor backed this ambitious enterprise with the vast for-tune he'd made in the fur trade and in New York real estate since arriving in the United States as a near-penniless immigrant soon after the Revolutionary War. He dispatched two groups of men west: one by sea around the southern tip of South America and one by land over the Rockies. The Overland Party, led by the gentlemanly American businessman Wilson Price Hunt, combined French-Canadian voyageurs, Scottish fur traders, American woodsmen, and an extraordinary Native American woman with two toddlers. The Seagoing Party, sailing aboard the ship Tonquin, likewise was a volatile microcosm of contemporary North America. Under the bitter eye of Captain Jonathan Thorn, a young U.S. naval hero whose unyielding, belligerent nature was better suited to battle than to negotiating cultural differences, the Tonquin made tumultuous progress toward its violent end.

Unfolding from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship, drawing extensively on firsthand accounts of those who made the journey. Though the colony itself would be short-lived, its founders opened provincial American eyes to the remarkable potential of the western coast, discovered the route that became the Oregon Trail, and permanently altered the nation's landscape and global standing.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Astoria
Publisher: Ecco
Publication Date: 2014
Binding: Hard Cover
Book Condition: As New
Edition: First Edition

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Peter Stark
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0062218298I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Peter Stark
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. Bookseller Inventory # G0062218298I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Peter Stark
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Squared
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. Bookseller Inventory # G0062218298I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Peter Stark
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Second City
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0062218298I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Peter Stark
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Atlanta Book Co.
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G0062218298I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stark, Peter
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Elistics
(Anaheim, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Book Condition: Acceptable. USED; Slightly Tattered We here at Elistics have a 100% satisfaction guarentee. We also ship no later than next business day. Thank you for your business. Bookseller Inventory # 26-D-1-00882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Stark, Peter
Published by Ecco (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2014. Book Condition: Good. 1ST. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP86385744

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Stark, Peter
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hawking Books
(Lake Arrowhead, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. 0062218298 Missing dust jacket. Acceptable Condition. Five star seller - Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062218298Z4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Goodwill Books
(Hillsboro, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. Sound copy that may show minimal signs of wear or previous ownership. Bookseller Inventory # 3IIEND000B5T

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stark, Peter
Published by Ecco (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062218298 ISBN 13: 9780062218292
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Ruby
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Bookseller Inventory # S_191805358

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 29 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book