Augustus: A Novel

John A. Williams

Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670141127 / ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.18 avg rating
(5,112 ratings)

Synopsis: A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves' I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power -- Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony -- young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man's dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

Augustus won the 1973 National Book Award for fiction.

About the Author: JOHN WILLIAMS (1922-1994), poet and novelist, was born in Texas and received his Ph.D. from the University of Missouri. In 1955 he became the director of the University of Denver's creative writing program where he edited the University of Denver Quarterly. He remained at Denver until his retirement in 1986. He was a cowinner of the 1973 National Book Award for Fiction for the novel Augustus.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Augustus: A Novel
Publisher: Viking Adult
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: GOOD

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John A. Williams
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2808738929

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 48.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John A. Williams
Published by Viking Adult (1972)
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 1972. Book Condition: Fair. First Edition. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP15292472

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 48.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John A. Williams
Published by Viking Adult (1972)
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 1972. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0670141127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 70.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John A. Williams
Published by Viking Adult (1972)
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 1972. Book Condition: Fair. First Edition. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96703454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 95.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Williams, John A.
Published by Viking Adult (1972)
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 1972. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # P020670141127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 119.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Williams, John A.
Published by Viking Adult (1972)
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 1972. Hardcover. Book Condition: Like New. Almost new condition. Bookseller Inventory # P010670141127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 131.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Williams, John A.
Published by Viking Adult (1972)
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 1972. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110670141127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 141.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

John A. Williams
Published by Viking Adult (1972)
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 1972. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. First Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 0670141127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 154.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Williams, John A.
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(Covington, KY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0670141127 New. Looks like an interesting title, learn more! We provide domestic tracking upon request. We provide personalized customer service and want you to have a great experience purchasing from us. 100% satisfaction guaranteed and thank you for your consideration. Bookseller Inventory # S-0670141127

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 191.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Williams, John A.
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670141127 ISBN 13: 9780670141128
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Twice Sold Tales
(Ashfield, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. 0670141127 1972 Viking Press hard cover - 1st edition 1st printing - 1 inch tear to bottom edge of dust jacket - minor creasing to dust jacket (now in mylar cover) minor staining to page edge - some staining on cover - otherwise binding strong contents clean - hard to find as not ex-library - 1973 National Book Award winner - enjoy. Bookseller Inventory # LHZ-HAQ-GDM

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 199.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 5 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book