Stock Image

The Awful Mess A Love Story

Sandra Hutchison

854 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0991186907 / ISBN 13: 9780991186907
Published by Sheer Hubris Press
New Condition: New Soft cover
From BuySomeBooks (Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since May 21, 2012 Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity Available: > 20

Buy New
List Price: US$ 14.99
Price: US$ 19.44 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

408 pages. Dimensions: 8.5in. x 5.5in. x 1.0in.Young divorcee Mary Bellamy has left behind the Boston suburbs for a fresh start in tiny, affordable Lawson, New Hampshire. She just wants to be left alone, but shes soon coping with attentions from Arthur, an unhappily-married Episcopal priest who would like to save her heathen soul . . . but is also susceptible to more earthly temptations. Then theres Winslow, a handsome cop (and excellent kisser) who confuses her by being in favor of gay rights, but opposed to sex before marriage. Marys just beginning to open up to new possibilities when a crushing job loss, a pregnancy that wasnt supposed to be possible, a scandalous secret, and a disintegrating ex threaten her new happiness and everything else she has left. In this witty and affectionate tale of small town life, Mary discovers that the connections we make can result in terrifying risks . . . and unexpected blessings. Fans of Julia Spencer-Fleming, Tim Farringtons The Monk Downstairs, and Gail Godwins Father Melancholys Daughter may particularly enjoy this confident debut. PRAISE FOR THE AWFUL MESS Whether youre the kind of reader who reads on the run, devouring delicious novels and never looking back, or the kind of reader who savors beautiful language, ironic dialogue and subtle commentary on the human condition, you will fall in love with the heroine of this book by the end of page one. Wonderfully written and slyly plotted, The Awful Mess follows the emotional and spiritual journey of Mary Bellamy from loneliness and rejection to love and redemption with surprising twists and turns. A word of warning: any female reader who prides herself on her self-honesty will find herself duly out-performed by our irresistible heroine (and may even envy Marys awful mess!). Lucia Nevai, author of SALVATION FROM THE AUTHOR The Sex and Language Warning: This book has a couple of sex scenes in it. If youd prefer to read a version that leaves all that to the imagination, there is, on Kindle only, a less explicit version called The Awful Mess: A Love Story PG-13 Edition. Please note that even the cleaned-up version has bad behavior and adult themes. The Religion Warning: While this book contains some religious themes, if you require piety and reverence in such matters, this is not the book for you. Skeptics, you will probably be able to cope. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Bookseller Inventory # 9780991186907

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Awful Mess A Love Story

Publisher: Sheer Hubris Press

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition:New

Book Type: Paperback

About this title

Synopsis:

Young divorcee Mary Bellamy has left behind the Boston suburbs for a fresh start in tiny, affordable Lawson, New Hampshire. She just wants to be left alone, but she's soon coping with attentions from Arthur, an unhappily-married Episcopal priest who would like to save her "heathen" soul ... but is also susceptible to more earthly temptations. Then there's Winslow, a handsome cop (and excellent kisser) who confuses her by being in favor of gay rights, but opposed to sex before marriage.

Mary's just beginning to open up to new possibilities when a crushing job loss, a pregnancy that wasn't supposed to be possible, a scandalous secret, and a disintegrating ex threaten her new happiness and everything else she has left.

In this witty and affectionate tale of small town life, Mary discovers that the connections we make can result in terrifying risks ... and unexpected blessings.

Fans of Julia Spencer-Fleming, Tim Farrington's The Monk Downstairs, and Gail Godwin's Father Melancholy's Daughter may particularly enjoy this confident debut.

PRAISE FOR THE AWFUL MESS

"Whether you're the kind of reader who reads on the run, devouring delicious novels and never looking back, or the kind of reader who savors beautiful language, ironic dialogue and subtle commentary on the human condition, you will fall in love with the heroine of this book by the end of page one. Wonderfully written and slyly plotted, The Awful Mess follows the emotional and spiritual journey of Mary Bellamy from loneliness and rejection to love and redemption with surprising twists and turns. A word of warning: any female reader who prides herself on her self-honesty will find herself duly out-performed by our irresistible heroine (and may even envy Mary's awful mess!)."

Lucia Nevai, author of SALVATION

FROM THE AUTHOR

The Sex and Language Warning: This book has a couple of sex scenes in it. If you'd prefer to read a version that leaves all that to the imagination, there is, on Kindle only, a less explicit version called The Awful Mess: A Love Story PG-13 Edition. Please note that even the cleaned-up version has bad behavior and adult themes.

The Religion Warning: While this book contains some religious themes, if you require piety and reverence in such matters, this is not the book for you. Skeptics, you will probably be able to cope.

The Awful Mess in manuscript form was one of five general fiction semifinalists for the 2014 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.

About the Author:

SANDRA HUTCHISON's career has long shifted between teaching, writing, editing, marketing, and advertising, all of which she enjoys. She founded Sheer Hubris Press in 2013 so she could try using all these skills at the same time. Born and raised in the Tampa Bay area, she survived a transplant to western Massachusetts in high school and has stayed in cooler climes ever since. She lives in Troy, New York, where she teaches writing at Hudson Valley Community College.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

BuySomeBooks is great place to get your books online. With over eight million titles available we're sure to have what you're looking for. Despite having a large selection of new books available for immediate shipment and excellent customer service, people still tell us they prefer us because of our prices.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.

BuySomeBooks is operated by Drive-On-In, Inc., a Nevada co...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 1-2 business days. Books are shipped from multiple locations so your order may arrive from Las Vegas,NV, Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN, Momence,IL, or Commerce,GA.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express