Stock Image

THE BELIEVERS

Heller, Zoe

4,992 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 006143020X / ISBN 13: 9780061430206
Published by Harper Collins Publishers, Inc., New York, NY, U.S.A., 2009
New Condition: New Hardcover
From Joe Staats, Bookseller (Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since January 20, 1999 Seller Rating 4-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
Price: US$ 50.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.75 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Signed and dated by author on title page. Author of NOTES ON A SCANDAL. New, opened only for signing, in new, mylar-protected dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory # 18922

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: THE BELIEVERS

Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers, Inc., New York, NY, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2009

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: New

Dust Jacket Condition: New

Edition: First American Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

“[Zoe Heller] is an extraordinarily entertaining writer, and this novel showcases her copious gifts, including a scathing, Waugh-like wit.”—New York Times

Best-selling author Zoe Heller has followed up the critical and commercial success of What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal with another tour-de-force on the meaning of faith, belief, and trust: The Believers. Tragic and comic, witty and intense, The Believers is the story of a dysfunctional family forced by tragedy to confront their own personal demons. In the vein of Claire Messud and Zadie Smith, Zoe Heller has written that rare novel that tackles the big ideas without sacrificing page-turning readability.

From the Back Cover:

When radical New York lawyer Joel Litvinoff is felled by a stroke, his wife, Audrey, uncovers a secret that forces her to reexamine everything she thought she knew about their forty-year marriage. Joel’s children will soon have to come to terms with this discovery themselves, but for the meantime, they are struggling with their own dilemmas and doubts.

Rosa, a disillusioned revolutionary, has found herself drawn into the world of Orthodox Judaism and is now being pressed to make a commitment to that religion. Karla, a devoted social worker hoping to adopt a child with her husband, is falling in love with the owner of a newspaper stand outside her office. Ne’er-do-well Lenny is living at home, approaching another relapse into heroin addiction.

In the course of battling their own demons—and one another—the Litvinoff clan is called upon to examine long-held articles of faith that have formed the basis of their lives together and their identities as individuals. In the end, all the family members will have to answer their own questions and decide what—if anything—they still believe in.

Hailed by the Sunday Times (London) as "one of the outstanding novels of the year," The Believers explores big ideas with a light touch, delivering a tragic, comic family story as unsparing as it is filled with compassion.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We are a long-established online bookstore specializing in Modern Literature, Mysteries/Thrillers, Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror, Biography, Nonfiction, Movies/Performance Arts, Short Story Collections, and Signed/Inscribed Books.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Books shipped in secure packaging via USPS Media Mail, Priority Mail or Global
Priority Mail, upon receipt of payment, unless customer requests another method
of delivery. Shipping is within 24 hrs. of receipt of payment for money orders,
and after three business days for personal checks. All book jackets are
protected in new mylar covers from Brodart.

Customers have three business days within which to contact us with complaints
about merchandise by e-mail. Returns must be approved, in original ...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order