Stock Image

BIG STONE GAP

Trigiani, Adriana

37,061 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0375504036 / ISBN 13: 9780375504037
Published by NY, Random House,, 2000
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From 23rd Lane Books (Palm Beach Gardens, FL, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since May 15, 2001

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 25.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 6.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

SIGNED & DATED BY ADRIANA TRIGIANI on the title page, First Printing of the author's first novel with the correct number line used by Random House in 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F940

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: BIG STONE GAP

Publisher: NY, Random House,

Publication Date: 2000

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:


It's 1978, and Ave Maria Mulligan is the thirty-five-year-old self-proclaimed spinster of Big Stone Gap, a sleepy hamlet in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. She's also the local pharmacist, the co-captain of the Rescue Squad, and the director of The Trail of the Lonesome Pine, the town's long-running Outdoor Drama. Ave Maria is content with her life of doing errands and negotiating small details-until she discovers a skeleton in her family's formerly tidy closet that completely unravels her quiet, conventional life. Suddenly, she finds herself juggling two marriage proposals, conducting a no-holds-barred family feud, planning a life-changing journey to the Old Country, and helping her best friend, the high-school band director, design a halftime show to dazzle Elizabeth Taylor, the violet-eyed Hollywood movie star who's coming through town on a campaign stump with her husband, senatorial candidate John Warner.

Filled with big-time eccentrics and small-town shenanigans, Big Stone Gap is a jewel box of original characters, including sexpot Bookmobile librarian Iva Lou Wade; Fleeta Mullins, the chain-smoking pharmacy cashier with a penchant for professional wrestling; the dashing visionary Theodore Tipton; Elmo Gaspar, the snake-handling preacher; Jack MacChesney, a coal-mining bachelor looking for true love; and Pearl Grimes, a shy mountain girl on the verge of a miraculous transformation.

Comic and compassionate, Big Stone Gap is is the story of a woman who thinks life has passed her by, only to learn that the best is yet to come.

Review:

In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature." Her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination.)" Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk." Fans of Fannie Flagg or Rebecca Wells will enjoy this down-home tale, full of small, everyday details and colloquial revelations. The writing is often awkward, but so too are the characters who inhabit this place: the Bookmobile lady who thinks of herself as the sexiest woman alive; the amateur actors in the local Outdoor Drama who bristle with ambition when they hear that Elizabeth Taylor is coming to visit. In Big Stone Gap, her visit is so anticipated, it's like she's an angel sent from heaven. --Ellen Williams

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

CHECK OR MONEY ORDER SHOULD BE MADE PAYABLE TO DANIEL FOSTER. Payment must be made in U.S. funds. Please allow time for an email confirmation before sending payment. Items will be held for ten days pending receipt of payment from time of confirmation of order.

PAYPAL AVAILABLE. PLEASE INQUIRE BEFORE ORDERING.


Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 4 business days. Shipping & Handling costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we will contact you when an extra shipping cost is required. All books are mailed through the United States Postal Service (USPS). International orders are shipped via Air Mail. USPS no longer provides surface shipping.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal