Stock Image

BLIND TO THE BONES

Booth, Stephen

1,374 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0007130651 / ISBN 13: 9780007130658
Published by HarperCollins, 2003
Condition: Near Fine Hardcover
From Rob & June Edwards (Salem, OR, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 8, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 24.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 2.49 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

First British ed. Near fine/Near fine condition, slight over all wear to book and dustjacket. Signed by the author on the title page. Bookseller Inventory # 31199

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: BLIND TO THE BONES

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: 2003

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Signed: Signed By the Author

Edition: First Ed.

Book Type: Book

About this title

Synopsis:

A death in the family from hell brings detectives Fry and Cooper to a remote and unfriendly rural community in their fourth psychological thriller.

“And as it grew dark, Withens became almost entirely silent. Except for the screaming.”

A small village in the Peak District, Withens is troubled by theft and vandalism, mostly generated by a family of local delinquents, the Oxleys. Now the town is the focus of a murder investigation. A man’s body has been found on the bleak moors nearby, and the victim is an Oxley. To crack the case, DC Ben Cooper must break open the degenerate clan.

His boss, DS Diane Fry, is also in Withens. Grim new evidence has turned up in the case of a missing student, but her parents refuse to believe she could be dead.

The darkness in Withens’s heart is growing. And things are only going to get nastier ...

This taut, atmospheric thriller is perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Peter James.

Review:

Family troubles of all shapes and surprises keep the cops hopping and the tension high in English novelist Stephen Booth's fourth Ben Cooper/Diane Fry mystery, Blind to the Bones.

The most affecting of this novel's three plot lines concerns the disappearance of university student Emma Renshaw, who was last seen more than two years ago while on her way home to Derbyshire. Unable to accept that their daughter isn't merely late on the train, that she's more than likely dead, Howard and Sarah Renshaw have gone to extraordinary lengths to find her, consulting psychics and "bombarding the police with theories and suggestions, pleas and demands"--all for naught. But then, suddenly, Emma's blood-stained mobile phone is found, and the Renshaws' faith seems finally to be rewarded. Or is this just another opportunity for disappointment? Meanwhile, Detective Constable Cooper--posted temporarily (he hopes) to a rural crime squad--is investigating burglaries around the depressed old village of Withens, when the battered corpse of one of Emma's ex-housemates turns up on the nearby moors, his face blackened with theatrical make-up and stolen goods left behind in his car. Inquiries lead Cooper to a clannish local family with a history of trouble-making, and put him in the sights of a shadowy group called the Border Rats.

Booth's ability over the course of a story to transform some of his least suspicious players into the most devious (or vice-versa) and his appreciative portrayal of England's scenic Peak District both make for engrossing fiction. Blind to the Bones's subtlest but most intriguing element, though, may be its third plot thread, which finds Detective Sergeant Fry's long-lost, heroin-addicted sister turning up in Edendale, where she tries to enlist Cooper's help in convincing the hard-edged Diane to stop looking for her, once and for all. This track answers several questions about DS Fry's past while raising more--and promising new levels of character development in future installments of this series. --J. Kingston Pierce

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We are an internet based business, specializing in science fiction, fantasy, horror, pulp and digest magazines. We also sell at science fiction conventions and antiquarian book fairs. WHY BUY FROM US? - Competitive pricing - Condition of items described accurately - Protective packaging used for all items - Prompt mailing - Personal service - Satisfaction guaranteed

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All items are subject to prior sale. Reservations will be held a maximum of 10
days. We accept Visa/Master Card, check or money order. Foreign checks and money orders must be in U.S. funds and drawn on U.S. banks only.

Shipping is via USPS media mail. International shipping is via USPS.

If ordering by telephone, please leave a return phone number for order
confirmation. We are generally not available by phone during the following
times: Monday-Friday 8:00AM-6:00PM PST. Items are returnable withi...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. Insurance and delivery confirmation is available for an additional charge.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order