Stock Image

BROWN'S REQUIEM

ELLROY, JAMES

ISBN 10: 1562870688 / ISBN 13: 9781562870683
Published by ARMCHAIR DETECTIVE LIBRARY 1994, 1994
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Mystery Mike's (Indianapolis, IN, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 27, 2001

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 100.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 5.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Fine in No Jacket dj, US First Edition, First Printing Hardcover FIRST ARMCHAIR DETECTIVE PRINTING-LIMITED LETTERED EDITION 89/100- IN A SLIP CASE - NO DUST JACKET AS ISSUED SIGNED Bubble wrapped and shipped in a box. Bookseller Inventory # 72149

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: BROWN'S REQUIEM

Publisher: ARMCHAIR DETECTIVE LIBRARY 1994

Publication Date: 1994

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: No Jacket

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Chandler and Wambaugh, the author of The Black Dahlia brilliantly evokes the dark underside of Los Angeles. When P.I. Fritz Brown undertakes an investigation into blood money changing hands at a golf course, he plunges into a nightmare of arson, corruption and porn. Reissue.

Review:

Before he began to remap the geography of the crime novel and venture out into the darkest noir night of them all with L.A. Confidential, The Black Dahlia, White Jazz, and American Tabloid, James Ellroy started his career with this powerful but basically straightforward book about Los Angeles private eye Fritz Brown. At first glance, the story of an investigation into a crooked golf tournament that opens up to include arson and murder could be just another work by any one of the dozens of good writers who have used Southern California as a metaphor for the decline and fall of civilization. But behind the terse prose, astute readers will soon begin to hear something else--the increasingly loud clamor of a cry of pain that will eventually become the barely manageable madness of Ellroy's later books. --Dick Adler

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We accept Visa, MasterCard, personal or business
checks, money orders or cashier's checks. Shipping is $5.00 for the 1st
book and $1.50 for each additional book. Special rates outside the U.S.
will be confirmed by e-mail prior to shipping. All orders outside the United
States must be paid in U.S. Dollars. Returns accepted within 10 days with
prior notification and reason.


Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact
you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order