Bang Crunch

Smith, Neil

Published by Phoenix
ISBN 10: 0753824442 / ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used / PAPERBACK / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

0753824442 signs of little wear on the cover. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.76 avg rating
(414 ratings)

Synopsis: An audacious New Face of Fiction debut: nine riveting stories that announce a major writer in the tradition of Yann Martel and Barbara Gowdy.

Unexpected humour and tenderness intertwine with loneliness and hopefulness in this remarkable book from an already acclaimed writer. In nine richly varied stories, written in intense, clear-eyed prose, the reader is led into an exploration of the human need for connection, however tenuous or absurd, and at whatever cost. The stories operate with heartbreaking precision, drawing us past the surface of characters’ lives and into the moments of decision and recognition that shape these people irrevocably.

Here are stories striking in the range of their shifting tone and the reach of their subjects. We are introduced to a support group for people who suspect their benign nature has caused benign tumours to grow inside them. The title story zeroes in on a girl with Fred Hoyle syndrome whose age expands and contracts like the universe. A recently widowed woman talks to her husband’s ashes, which are entombed in a hollowed-out curling stone. A store detective’s valiant act to save a pair of pink calfskin gloves is entwined with the unfortunate results of an unsuccessful space mission.

Rendering grief, loneliness, hope, love and happiness with exquisite subtlety and intelligence, Neil Smith proves himself an able chronicler of the human condition. Bang Crunch constitutes a significant achievement by a powerful new writer.
From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author: Neil Smith is a Montreal writer. He has won an honourable mention at the National Magazine Awards, first prize at the Eden Mills Writers’ Festival, and was nominated for the Journey Prize three times. His writing has appeared in The Journey Prize Stories, Coming Attractions 04, The Malahat Review, The New Quarterly, Fiddlehead and Maisonneuve.
From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Bang Crunch
Publisher: Phoenix
Binding: PAPERBACK
Book Condition: Very Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Neil Smith
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Quantity Available: 3
Seller
*BIG BANG BOOKS*
(Durham, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2896247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Neil Smith
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
*BIG BANG BOOKS*
(Durham, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-3710235

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Neil Smith
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Quantity Available: 3
Seller
MegaBooksUK
(Wolsingham, A, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2896247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Neil Smith
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
MegaBooksUK
(Wolsingham, A, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-3710235

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Neil Smith
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Quantity Available: 3
Seller
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2896247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Neil Smith
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-3710235

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Neil Smith
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Hemingway Ventures Ltd.
(Consett, CD, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-2896247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Neil Smith
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hemingway Ventures Ltd.
(Consett, CD, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bookseller Inventory # SKU-3710235

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Smith, Neil
Published by Phoenix (2008)
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. USED BUT OTHERWISE OF EXCELLENT QUALITY ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001813433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Smith, Neil
Published by Phoenix (2008)
ISBN 10: 0753824442 ISBN 13: 9780753824443
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ceredigion Book Shop
(Nr Lampeter, CERED, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Very Good condition with no significant faults. Clearly used but very few minor defects. Will look good on your book case after reading but may not be suitable as a present unless hard to find elsewhere SECURE DAILY POSTING FROM UK. 30 DAY GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002232929

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 15 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book